Cherry squares in jars

Cherry Dessert

My mom, like any other mom I am sure, has go-to recipes; recipes that they have been making since forever and that no one ever gets tired of. One of my mom’s most popular desserts is her Cherry Squares. I am not lying: everyone loves them. They were actually my grandfather’s favourite and my mom would sometimes make him a full pan, just for the fun of it. He always liked that.

For some reason, I never asked my mom for her recipe (unlike pretty much everyone else who have tasted it). I guess I just liked eating these squares when my mom would make them – it made them special. But about two weeks ago I realized I had some left over cherry pie filling and thought I would give her recipe a try. So I called her and asked for her recipe, asking as well if it was okay for me to share it on the blog. “ Ho yeah, she said. Everyone has this recipe anyways!”

Cherry DessertWhen I got the list of ingredients, I frowned for a moment: one envelop of dream whip? Icing sugar AND cream cheese? This was definitively not a healthy dessert, no matter how I tried to find alternatives to it. So I decided to just go with it and “bite the bullet”, literally.

The only difference, I thought, was that I would make the dessert in individual pots, making them a little more special. Just because I am fancy like that! But you can easily make those desserts in a square pan, just make double the amount of crust if you decide to do so.

It turned out, mom, that it was as great as I could remember. Thank you for sharing your recipe with all of us! It was a real treat.

You will need:
1 cup of grounded Graham crackers
¼ cup of melted butter
1 pack of dream whip (made according to the instruction on the box)
1 pack (8 ounces) of cream cheese, room temperature
1 cup of icing sugar
Cherry pie filling

What to do:
Mix the crackers with the melted butter until you have a slightly wet crumble. Put in the bottom of individual glasses or ramekins (they need to be oven proof).

Place on a baking sheet and put in the oven at 375F for 8 minutes. Take them out and let them cool completely.

In the meanwhile, beat the cream cheese with icing sugar until smooth. Add the prepared dream whip and beat well.

Pipe or spread on top of the cooled graham cracker crust. Top with some cherry pie filling. Refrigerate for an hour or two before eating. Enjoy!

Cherry Dessert - The Willow Life

 

Leave a Reply

