Remembering what it’s like to go down hill

One of the mountains of Whiteface. It is actually the 5th highest mountain in the U.S. state of New York. Amazing view.
One of the peeks of Whiteface. It is actually the 5th highest mountain in the U.S. state of New York. Amazing view.

This year, I haven’t been able to ski, which makes me a little sad. I mean I get it, I am far from being great on skis and with this little boy in my belly, downhill skiing is out of the question. However, I find myself missing the feeling of getting mentally ready to face the mountain and carve as hard as I can to make my way down. I miss the wind in my face and the feeling of my heart beating fast in my chest.

The man skiing from our hotel room to Smugglers Notch. In the background is Madonna mountain.
The man skiing from our hôtel at Smugglers’ Notch to the Madonna mountain.

Jacob, on the other hand, patrols at two different hills so he gets to ski A LOT. So when he comes back home at night and tells me about his day or weekend, I get a little envious. It’s funny to miss doing something you actually only have been doing for 3 years.

We loved our time skiing in Vermont.
We loved our time skiing in Vermont.

That’s correct, my first time on skis was with Jacob. We started dating in September and by December that year he had me on skis for the first time, teaching me how to “slow down” and “stay in control”. The next year for Christmas he equipped me with my own boots and skis and took me to many different hills, from Mont Saint-Sauveur in Québec to Whiteface Mountain in the U.S. I loved those trips. They also always included great food and delicious beers at the end of the day, very often shared with friends.

The following year, we decided to book a full week at Smugglers’ Notch in Vermont. God it was cold – it was the first week of January and we had to go in between each ride down to heat up. Jacob ended up with some minor frost bite. We had such a great time. We were almost the only ones on the hill it was so cold. But we kept going and enjoying every ride down.

We got some pretty cool storms last year. And we kept on going.
We got some pretty cool storms last year. And we kept on going.

So as I am going through old pictures tonight, I thought I would share some of my favourite moments with you. And who knows, maybe it will inspire you to take a day off and hit one of those hills!

Jacob and I taking a little break at Whiteface.
Jacob and I taking a little break at Whiteface.

Leave a Reply

