Black forest cake crêpe

Black Forest Crepe Recipe - The Willow Life

Valentine’s Day, it’s almost here. For some people the pressure is on to impress someone they love while for others it’s just a regular day in the year. For me, Valentine’s Day means a great meal, and even more, it means a great dessert.

Going out to a restaurant on Valentine’s Day can be a great idea, depending on where you go. Nothing bothers me more than being rushed when I order my meal, and then to eat quickly and leave so that another couple can have our table. I understand it is an important night for the people in the restaurant industry, but I also know myself and when I go out on a date with my man we usually like to take at least a couple (or three) hours to enjoy multiple courses and finish with a great coffee and dessert. On our first date, we stayed at our table for 4 hours – and closed the restaurant.

This is why I don’t necessarily like going out on Valentine’s Day – and this is why I normally dress up and have dinner at home with Jacob. I light up some candles, add a special touch to the table setup and prepare an elaborate meal for us to enjoy while sipping champy. No rush, no fuss. Jacob normally hangs out with me while I cook in a black dress and an apron. He gets to help with the meal, fill up our glasses (many times) and basically it gives us a chance to chill together. It may not be as relaxing as being served at a restaurant, but it is nice to cook something with him that we will both enjoy.

Recipe for making Black Forest crepes from thewillowlife.comSo today I thought I would share an idea for a delicious dessert that I find is a perfect fit for Valentine’s Day: Black Forest cake crêpes. They have very similar flavours to the Black Forest cake, but I find it less filling (which is great especially if you’ve had a big main meal). I also love the texture of the crêpe, which can be made in advance and heated up at dessert time.

My website has lots of delicious ideas that might inspire you if you decide to stay at home this year. And don’t forget: it is not about creating the perfect evening with the perfect table and the perfect plate: it is about having a good time with someone special, may it be your significant other, a friend, or simply for yourself.

Wishing you all the best on Valentine’s Day. xxx

You will need:
One batch of crêpe – see recipe here
1 can of cherry pie filling
1 batch of homemade brownies (recipe here) or store bought, cut in small pieces
Heavy cream
3 tablespoons of icing sugar
Maraschino cherries

Make the crêpe up to half a day in advance. Make sure to seal them in plastic wrap – this is to make sure they don’t gfet dry.

In a bowl, whip the heavy cream with the icing sugar. Set aside.

Heat a frying pan and place a cooked crêpe in it, heating it slowly. Spread some cherry pie filling and cover the entire crêpe. Add pieces of brownies. When the crêpe is warm, fold each side and transfer to a plate.

Add a spoon of whipped cream (or many), sprinkle the little pieces of brownies over the dis and finish by adding a cherry on top of the whippet cream. Repeat for as many as you need. Enjoy!

3 thoughts

Leave a Reply

