Blueberry and almond tart

Blueberry Almond Tart

Sunday is starting to become a lazy day for me. The day I prepare myself store-bought croissants and fruits for breakfast, the day when I meet a friend at the coffee shop to sip latte, the day I catch up on my reading. Making an elaborate meal doesn’t cross my mind anymore on that day. All I want is a simple early dinner and, always, homemade dessert.

I probably sound like an old-fashion southern American woman when I say that. But there is something incredibly comforting about having a piece of homemade dessert to finish the week, while relaxing in the comfort of our home. I like how great it smells in the house, how pretty the dessert looks on a cake tray on the counter, how inviting it makes the kitchen.

Blueberry Almond Tart

Last week I tried and adapted a recipe from Ricardo. I made my own pie dough recipe, added some sliced almonds and if you like it, I suggest adding a little almond extract. I also decided to serve it with whipped cream – why not! Jacob started by complaining about the fact that I was doing something, “again”, with almonds. He doesn’t like almonds as much as I do. But he opened up to it and tried the pie and finally had to admit that although it was very simple, it was pretty darn good.

What I liked about this recipe is that it took me 15 minutes to make. The pie dough is the longest part to do, and it really only takes about 10 minutes. If you really want to take it easy, you can probably get the store-bought piecrust – although I haven’t tested it myself. The filling is a one-bowl job, and up it goes in the oven for 45 minutes.

So here you go, the recipe is below. I hope it will enjoy it.

You will need:

For the crust:
1 cup of flour
A pinch of salt
½ teaspoon of baking powder
1/3 cup of cold butter
About 6 tablespoons of cold water

For the filling:
1/3 cup of butter, room temperature
½ cup of sugar
½ cup of ground almonds
2 tablespoons of maple syrup
1 egg
½ teaspoon of almond extract (optional)
1 tablespoon of flour
½ cup of sliced almonds
1 cup of blueberries
1 cup of heavy cream
3 to 4 tablespoons of icing sugar

For the pie crust:
In a food processor, mix the flour with salt and baking powder. Add the butter, a small quantity at a time, mixing well between each addition. Add the water one tablespoon at a time, pulsing after each one. Add enough water until the dough is sticky, yet not wet.

On a floured surface, roll the dough until about 9-inches round. Place in a tart pan with a removable bottom. Put in the fridge until the filling is ready.

For the filling:
In a bowl, mix the butter with the sugar. Add the ground almonds, maple syrup, the egg and the almond extract. Add the flour and sliced almonds and mix until everything is well incorporated.

Spread in the bottom of the piecrust. Add the blueberries on top of the filling. Bake at 350F for 45 minutes.

In the meanwhile, whisk the heavy cream. Add the icing sugar until just enough sweet (taste it as you go). Whip until light and fluffy.

Enjoy your tart with a spoon of whipped cream!

Blueberry Almond Tart

Leave a Reply

