Willow Project: The nursery – part 1

Image from Pinterest
Image from Pinterest. Make sure to follow my board for more ideas.

As you may know, Jacob and I are expecting a little boy for early May. As a bonus, we just bought our first home, which means we get to create a dreamy nursery for this little man. We are quite excited, but as we started doing some research, we also realised it would be a little bit of work.

The first steps of thinking of “a big picture” for the room were quite challenging. We had some bits and pieces of ideas, but we didn’t had a full concept in mind. We knew we wanted to install some wainscoting on the walls and create a rustic vibe to the room. We had also agreed right away that it should be a warm space, calm and relaxing. However, we also wanted a room that had some character – so not boring. Jacob and I also knew we wanted to do the work ourselves, so we needed to be realistic in what we could do and follow our budget strictly.

I love this rustic idea and the wood for this changing table/dresser. The frame is a DIY easy projects that croates a strong statement. Follow my board for more ideas. Original photo from HERE.
I love this rustic idea and the wood for this changing table/dresser. The frame is a DIY easy projects that croates a strong statement. I also love the wainscoting on the wall. Follow my board for more ideas. Original photo from HERE.

Once again in my life, I found Pinterest the most useful tool to put the concept of the room together, piece by piece. It helped Jacob and I really wrap our head around what we both liked, helped us agree on a wallpaper that fitted both our styles, and we are about to go shopping for the paint very soon.

Nursery 3
I love the branch with the birds as a mobile, which is also something that can be made at home. Picture from Pinterest.

However, between the empty room with beige walls that is currently the baby’s room and the nursery we have in mind, there is a HUGE gap. When I stand in the doorway of the baby’s room, I feel a mix of excitement and insecurity. Can we pull this off? Can we take the vision we have in our mind and make it a reality? When I step in the room and sit on the empty floor, I try to imagine how life will be with our son. And suddenly I feel incredibly humble and thankful. We will make it work.

In about 2 weeks, Jacob and I are going to start working on the wainscoting and the paint – ok Jacob will start working on it while I will be visiting my family in New Brunswick but only because pregnant woman shouldn’t hang around paint. We have also decided to make a video of the whole project that we will share online once completed. Hopefully, this might inspire other young mother-to-be to take on the task and do something personal and special for their little one.

In the meanwhile, I will keep checking out Pinterest for more ideas. To be continued…. xxx

*All images are from Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

