Wishing you all the best and sweetest in 2016

In 2015, I started a small company called SilverSpoon Events. Unfortunately, I didn't make enough efforts in marketing it and decided after six months to drop the project. Still, I am proud I gave it a shot.
In 2015, I started a small company called SilverSpoon Events. Unfortunately, I didn’t make enough efforts in marketing it and decided after six months to drop the project. Still, I am proud I gave it a shot.

Happy New Year everyone!

I can’t believe we are starting a brand new year already. Time is a funny thing. I have been thinking about it a lot lately, between runs to the notary, showing up for appointments to make sure our little guy is doing good, and finding a couple of hours here and there to squeeze in a cup of coffee with a friend. Sometimes it feels like there is never enough time for all the projects I have in mind and all the people I want to see.

Growing up, people would make resolutions at this time of year. Now, I hear more and more people saying that it is not a good time of year to start a resolution ¾ puts too much pressure on people. Overall I have never been quite sure about the idea of a resolution. But I like the idea of new beginnings and new goals.

Jacob and I traveled a lot this year. Driving to the Oregon coast and back to Ontario was one of our highlights.
Jacob and I traveled a lot this year. Driving to the Oregon coast and back to Ontario was one of our highlights.

This all leads me to think about how I spend my time. I’ve heard the philosophers say to “embrace the present moment”, I’ve seen the famous quotes to tell us to enjoy life as it happens. However, I find these wise proverbs extremely difficult to follow on a day-to-day basis. Between waking up, showering, getting ready to go to work, driving there, spending the day working in an office, rushing back here to spend some time with Jacob or going to meet a friend, working on new projects and trying to fit some time to read and play with Chanel (our cat), I have been feeling out of breath this year. I fill each day with so many things to do that I spend more time preparing and going to places than actually enjoying the whole process. To top it all off, while this is all happening, I feel tired and sometimes frustrated about “not having enough time”. I feel like that makes me sound like a crazy person. How time flies…

Probably the biggest news of our year...
Probably the biggest news of our year…

I guess I only had to spend a couple of afternoons with my nose in a book or watching a TV show on HGTV to realise that the problem is not that I didn’t have enough time on my hands for all I want to do. The problem is my perspective of time and how I chose to live within it. I am missing out on so much because I think I am running around. However, I could also choose to stop and be thankful that I have the ability, the support and the drive to do so much. I shouldn’t feel guilty for taking an hour to sip my cup of coffee while reading on Saturday morning instead of rushing out the door to go to the grocery store to get what I need for this elaborate dinner that I have in mind. It is totally fine to eat out of a box from time to time, and it is okay to skip a yoga class to sleep in.

Yound woman maternity picture
We couldn’t be more thankful for this little guy who will be with us in early May…

This year has been incredible in so many ways for Jacob and I. I am thankful for everything that we were able to accomplish, I am excited about everything that is coming our way, however this year I am choosing to work on how I will “live in the moment”, enjoy the little things a little more. It is extremely cliché, I am not even sure it can be called a resolution, but at the end of the day, it is harder to do than I thought. Just like at yoga when you have to bring yourself back to your mat and focus on your breath (mind over body), living in the present and making sure I make time for the right projects will be a challenge for me. And I welcome this challenge.

So may this year bring you some great moments, some new challenges and lots of love. And I hope you will enjoy every minute of it.

And because I have decided to spend the last few days with friends and family, I didn’t develop a new recipe to share today. I hope you will forgive me for sharing this one with you once again, which are easy, healthy crepes – perfect for any lazy breakfast. Happy New Year everyone. xxx

Crepes

3 thoughts

Leave a Reply

