Almond and Cranberry Biscotti

Biscotti recipes from Sugar Coated Baking

There is nothing like the quietness of a Sunday morning. I love waking up before Jacob. I make my way slowly to our kitchen, brew myself a cup of coffee and sit down on the couch with the cat. I like how silent everything is. I also like the routine of turning the heat on, feeling the cold floor under my feet, wrapping myself in a blanket and daydream for a little while.

This recipe, I didn’t know it at the time, would be the last one I would bake in our apartment. I decided to bake these almond and cranberry biscotti on a Sunday morning. I saw all the boxes around me, stared at the empty shelves, and it felt like I had to bake something to make our apartment feel (or smell) homey even if we were already starting to say goodbye.

An easy to make, easy to clean recipe that goes so well with coffee. I don’t make biscotti very often. I think the last time I made them was about 2 years ago. But recently, I have been craving cookies more and more. It may be the time of year. It may also be because they are simply delicious.

Biscotti recipes from Sugar Coated Baking

Anyhow, this recipe now has a special moment associated with it. They are my last baking memory in an apartment that has brought us so much joy, has seen us grow and become better people, has hosted many dinner parties, and that has kept us warm. Leaving that place was harder than I thought. But Jacob and I were ready to move to our new home, OUR home. We were excited for this new chapter in our lives.

So the recipe is below. I love the flavours of almonds and the seetness of the cranberries, and what is even best is that you can keep those biscotti about 5 days in an air tight container, no problem. They might lose a bit of their crispiness by the end of day 3 but will still be delicious.

Hoping you will enjoy them this holiday season! xxx

Biscotti recipes from Sugar Coated Baking

You will need:
2 cups of flour
1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder
A pinch of salt
1/2 cup of butter
3/4 cup of sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon of almond extract
3/4 cup of sliced almonds
3/4 cup of dried cranberries

 

In a bowl, mix the flour with the baking powder and the salt.

In another bowl, beat the butter and the sugar. Add the eggs, one at a time. Add the almond extract. Add the flour mixture and mix until just combined.

With a wooden spoon, add the sliced almonds and cranberries.

On a floured surface, work the dough to create one big log of about 18 inches long. Transfer to a baking sheet that has parchemin paper.

Bake at 350F for 25 minutes, then let cool on the counter for 20 minutes.

Cut the log in order to make about 18 biscotti. Space the cookies on the baking sheet and put them back in the oven for about 15 minutes.

Let the biscotti cool on a cooling rack and serve with a cup of warm coffee. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

