Candy Cane Meringue Kisses

Candy Cane Merengue

Candy canes bring me back to childhood. I use to make such a big deal out of those. The kids would bring them to the playground and we would share, tasting different kinds. It’s funny how it was simple to have a good time in those days. Candy canes and kids and you got yourself a party.

Anyways. You probably know by now that I am a huge fan of meringue cookies. I just like how light they are, how easy it is to whip up a batch and I think they have a great texture. So this year, I decided to test my simple meringue cookie recipe with the sweet and minty taste of candy canes. To my surprise, it was quite good!

Since I have been busy moving in the past week, this recipe made the cut for the blog. I will likely not win a price for originality, but based on taste, I thought it was interesting enough to share with other home-bakers.

The recipe is below. I hope you will enjoy it. Cheers!

Candy Cane infused merengue droplets - the sweetest Christmas treat
You can also skip the candy cane and drizzle some melted chocolate on each meringue once they are cooked and cooled.

You will need:
6 large egg white, room temperature
A pinch of salt
A pinch of cream of tartar
1 cup and 1 tablespoon of sugar
1 teaspoon of mint extract (if you want)
About ¼ cup of crushed candy canes

Put your egg white in a large bowl. Add a pinch of salt and the cream of tartar. Start whisking until you get soft white peeks. Add your sugar while whisking and keep going until stiff peeks. Add your mint extract if using.

Transfer your egg whites into a piping bag and make some design on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Add some crushed candy canes on top of each cookie.

Bake at 200F for 1 hours and 45 minutes. Turn the oven off and keep the cooking in the oven for another 30 minutes. Take them out and let cool before serving. Enjoy!

3 thoughts

Leave a Reply

