My 5 favourite Christmas cookies

Holidays are my absolute favourite time of year. Nothing beats it (sorry fall). I love everything about it: the first snow, the jolly and tacky decorations, the frost in the windows, the dinners with friends and family, and of course, holiday baking and cooking.

There is also nothing like having cookies available at all time, making eggnog latte in the morning, or spending hours preparing 4 types of appetizers for your friends who are coming over. I like Christmas music and playing it while baking – there, it’s out: I’m tacky. I love afternoon spent in pyjamas watching Christmas movies I have seen dozen of times while eating more homemade treats.

Almond cookies

No matter how fancy I try to go with Christmas baking, there is something I would never skip: traditional cookies. I absolutely love making the dough (and tasting it as I go), using my rolling pin to get just the right thickness, displaying them on the cookie sheet and watch over them while they bake to avoid burning the edges. I love the sweet smell it spreads in the house and I love when Jacob tiptoes around me, trying to steal a cookie when they are right out of the oven. And then, of course, decorating them is just fun.

This year, I have decided to share with you 5 of my favourite recipes. In the next 2-3 weeks, I will be posting recipes I have either been baking for many years, created, of have tried for the first time this year and absolutely loved.

‘Tis the time of year folks! And what about you? What do you like baking during the holidays? Feel free to leave a comment and to share what cookies you must have during Christmas time! Xxx

Leave a Reply

