A holiday tradition: eggnog

Egg Nog

About a week ago, I had my first eggnog latte of the season (and made quite a deal by tweeting and telling everyone about it). I LOVE eggnog. Another thing that I don’t have in common with Jacob is that he can’t even begin to understand what I can possibly like about it.

Well dear Jacob, and all of you who are misjudging eggnog, let me first say this: it is a holiday tradition and it should be respected. If that didn’t do the trick to convince you, think about it as a sweet, creamy, delicious drink that screams CHRISTMAS! There is nothing like wearing an ugly holiday sweater while decorating the tree and sipping on eggnog to put you in the festive mood.

Holiday Egg Nog Recipe From Sugar Coated Baking - sugarcoatedbaking.com

Thinking about tradition, I am discovering as I am getting older (and overall somewhat wiser) that I am a woman who loves my traditions. I am a big fan of traditions. Since I met Jacob, we’ve built many traditions that I can’t wait to share with our future little guy or girl: hosting a Christmas dinner for all our friends (which we have to postpone this year as we are moving…), hosting a brunch on New Year’s Day, decorating the Christmas tree together while listening to cheesy holiday music. I also have some traditions I inherited from my parents: baking specific types of cookies, playing board games when there is a storm outside, watching holiday movies in pyjamas.

I have always liked traditions. Every year, they bring a feeling of warmth, make me feel at home no matter where I am, and overall I find them reassuring. I am sure a shrink would find lots of issues with all this. On my end, all I say is that I find tradition comforting.

So, when thinking about holiday traditions or classics, many of us will think about eggnog. Many of us, as well (present person included) will get it at the store as we may not have “time” to make it ourselves. To that I say: let’s create a new tradition, which will be to make some homemade eggnog every year and share it with loved ones.

Egg Nog

The good news is that it is pretty easy to make eggnog at home – if you keep a close eye on what you are doing. Which means no distractions. The not so very good news is that if you cook your eggnog too quick or too long, it will curdle and will end up in the trash.

The recipe I am sharing today comes from adapting many recipes and finally creating my own. Hopefully you will try it in the comfort of your home and will like it so much that it will become a tradition of your very own!

Holiday Egg Nog Recipe From Sugar Coated Baking - sugarcoatedbaking.com

You will need:
6 eggs
2/3 cup of sugar
3 cups of milk
1 cup of heavy cream
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
4 cinnamon sticks
1 teaspoon of ground nutmeg
3/4 cup of rhum (up to you)

In a bowl, mix the 2 cups of milk with the cream. Add the vanilla, cinnamon sticks and nutmeg. Let it sit for about 20 minutes.

In a big pot, whisk the eggs with the sugar. Add the milk and cream mixture. Put the pot on low heat and slowly heat your milk – whisking often and never letting the milk boil. This will take about 12 minutes.

Strain the hot milk into a heat-proof bowl. Whisk in the remaining cup of milk. Put the bowl on top of ice and keep mixing every two minutes for about 15 minutes, or until cool.

Put the bowl in the fridge for 3 hours before serving. Drink within the next 24 hours. Enjoy!

5 thoughts

  1. Thanks for sharing your recipe, my nan would kill me if I shared ours but suffice to say I love eggnog and can’t wait for December to come to start drinking it – our tradition is wherever we are 1/12/15 we take our first cup of eggnog (the tradition is we only drink it in December, in recent years we have started to take pics and share them with family members. As we all travel quite a bit with our work we have some fun pics in some odd places.
    https://foodietravelsca.wordpress.com/

    1. Hahaha! Well it’s not for everyone – it actually took me a long time to try it. But now, during the holiday, I use it for baking (you can do super good eggnog cheesecake or cookies, for example) or eggnog latte (hello!!). And it is so good just as a drink. Hope you will like it if you try it – and I have to point out the ones at the store (refrigerated ones) are very often really good, if you want to try it before actually making it yourself.

Leave a Reply

