Apple sauce and blueberry muffins

Apple Sauce Blueberry Muffins_Jacob Fergus 3

Things have been a little hectique lately. I don’t know if you remember but about a month ago I was sharing the fact that Jacob and I were looking for houses to buy. Our first house. Well, last week we found the house we could both see ourselves living in for many, many years. So we made an offer, crossed our fingers, and waited 24 hours. To our relief, the offer was accepted. So pending the result of the inspection tomorrow, we could be moving in to our new house in less than 2 months.

Which is great! But it also means I haven’t been spending a lot of time in the kitchen in the past weeks. Between visiting houses, running for paperwork and being tired of it all, Jacob and I abused a bit on take-out with ice-cream for dessert.

Apple Sauce Blueberry Muffins_Jacob Fergus 1Last weekend however, Jacob was doing his recertification for ski-patrol and that means I had the house all to myself. Between a marathon of Gilmore Girls on Netflix and napping I also worked on a new recipe that, after testing a couple of times, turned out pretty good!

My idea was to create a muffin healthy enough for the morning and that would be filling while still being delicious. I hate healthy muffins that taste like cardboard or that have an extra-dry texture. I am okay with reducing the sugar and fat content in a recipe, but I am definitively not okay with compromising on the taste.

So I guess my muffins are half-healthy. There is no fat (so no butter or oil), I substituted some flour for oatmeal and decided to sweeten them with blueberries. However, there is sugar and I prefer them this way. After all, this blog is called Sugar Coated! The texture is interesting as the apple sauce makes them a little sticky, but they stay moist and I love the combination of apple and blueberry.

Anyways! I hope you will get a chance to try them and hopefully, like them. As always, the recipe follows. Cheers!

Apple Sauce Blueberry Muffins_Jacob Fergus 2

You will need:
1 cup of flour
1 cup of large oat flakes
3 teaspoons of baking powder
A pinch of salt
1/2 cup of apple sauce
1 cup of sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon of vanilla
¼ cup of milk
1 cup of blueberries (I used frozen ones)

In a bowl, mix the flour, oat flakes, baking powder and salt together.

In another bowl, beat the apple sauce with the sugar, then add the egg and the vanilla.

Add half of the dry ingredients to the wet mixture and beat well. Add the milk and mix. Add the remaining dry ingredients and mix until well combined.

With a spatula, mix in the blueberries with the batter.

Divide the batter into 12 buttered muffin cups and fill almost to the top.

Bake at 350F for 18-20 minutes. Keep an eye on them as you don’t want to over bake them. Enjoy!

3 thoughts

  1. Hi Lyne, Congratulations on the house! Very exciting for you. I am also moving to a new house in January! Spider Boy and I are moving back to Canberra. I will post on my blog soon about it. I also recently went to the Eat Drink Blog conference in Canberra last weekend – will hopefully post that today or tomorrow. So many food photos! I really like the sound of a (half)-healthy muffin for breakfast. I think I will have a go of this recipe. xx

    1. That’s so great Alex! Congrats on the move as well, it is very exciting to start something new. I will make sure to surf on your blog to check the post once it is up. I saw some pictures on your Instagram about the bloggers conference I believe, that sounds like lots of fun! I can (almost) garantee that those muffins will turn out good for you. I noticed the type of apple sauce seem to influence the texture and volume of the muffins.. anyways, let me know if you try them. Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

