Blueberry and Almond Streusel Cake

Blueberry and Almond Streusel Cake

Monday mornings are always hard, but easy at the same time. They are hard because they mean I have to go back to work and won’t be spending the day doing whatever I feel like doing. They are easy because I am normally rested and happy to be awake.

Don’t get me wrong: I like my job. But this Monday was particularly challenging as I woke up with a craving to do some baking. I would have got up, put my apron on and whipped some eggs with sugar and butter. It didn’t help that my Instagram feed was only showing me delicious-looking blueberry galette and pie – probably because blueberries are in season. But alas – I went to work, packing my yoga clothes and mat as I was planning on attending a session at the end of the day. It doesn’t come as a surprise that I ditched my practice and instead asked Jacob to pick me up so that I could go bake a blueberry cake.

Blueberry and Almond Streusel CakeI think my actual craving of baking comes with the change we are feeling in the season. I am less afraid of turning the oven on and heating the house, I am looking at flavourful cake recipes and am thinking of fall-inspired meals. I can spend hours looking at old recipe books, finding new ones to try and making notes to improve my cooking.

So Monday, I came back home after work and decided to do my own version of a blueberry cake – a mix between a traditional cake and a coffee cake. The batter for the cake comes from a recipe on eggs.ca that is very traditional and delicious. The topping, however, comes from my own little brain.

Jacob and I had a great time doing the photo shoot for this cake. We kept changing angles, doing research for inspiration, and finally opted for a very convivial setup that strongly reflects the state of our kitchen on any given day. The next day, I brought half of the cake to work to share with my colleagues. I don’t think they minded.

So here is the recipe. I hope you will enjoy it if you try it. On my end, it totally fixed my craving for baking…for a couple days. Enjoy!

Blueberry and Almond Streusel Cake

You will need:

For the almond streusel:
1 cup of unsalted butter
1/3 cup of marzipan (about 90 grams)
1¾ cups of flour
¾ cup of brown sugar
½ cup of sliced almonds
A pinch of salt

For the cake:
½ cup of butter, room temperature
1 cup of sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
1 teaspoon of vanilla
2 cups of all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons of baking powder
A pinch of salt
2/3 cup of milk
2 cups of wild blueberries

Sugar Coated Baking's Blueberry and Almond Streusel Cake

Make the streusel:
Mix the flour with the brown sugar and salt. Grate the cold butter in the bowl, followed by the marzipan. Add sliced almonds. Mix with your hands until you get crumbles. Set aside.

Make the cake:
In a bowl, beat the butter with the sugar. Add the eggs, one at a time, then the vanilla. Beat well.

In a separate bowl, mix the flour with baking powder and salt.

Add a third of the flour mixture to the first mix and beat well. Add half of the milk and mix well again. Mix in another third of the flour, followed by the rest of the milk. Add the remaining flour and make sure everything is well incorporate.

With a spatula, gently fold-in the blueberries.

Pour the batter in a buttered cake pan (or in an angel food cake pan). Pour the streusel on top. Bake at 350F for 45 to 55 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the cake comes out clean.

Let the cake cool and enjoy!

4 thoughts

    1. Hahaha, I wish I could bake it for you Adreienne! Yes you could use another type of nuts (such as walnuts) and skip the marzipan. That means you may have to add a little butter, you’ll have to see how it turns.

Leave a Reply

