Falling for apples, at Mountain Orchards

Mountain Orchard Farm

About two weeks ago, while looking at my calendar, it hit me that summer was pretty much gone. Fall was slowly taking its place and I was looking forward to enjoying my favourite season. As a way of welcoming fall, Jacob and I decided to go apple picking.

I hadn’t been gone apple picking in many years so I was pretty excited. I Googled “Apple picking Ottawa”, and the first result I got was Mountain Orchards. I looked at the location, comments, noticed they were picking Lobo apples that weekend and so this is where Jacob and I would head-out that Sunday morning.

The road to get there was beautiful. I love the Ontario country; it reminds me a lot of New Brunswick, where I grew up. We passed many barns, saw some cows, many freshly cut cornfields, a beautiful landscape. We reached our destination within an hour.

Mountain Orchard Farm

At 10 am, the parking lot (which is actually a field) was half-full already. Kids were running around, dogs were happily following them, parents looked relaxed. While walking towards the little tractor that would get us to the field, I wondered how long this place had been farming apple trees…

Mountain Orchard Farm

Established in 1932, Mountain Orchards grew from a plantation of McIntosh trees to a 25 acre farm with over 10,000 trees, now offering 8 different varieties of apples from the end of August to mid-October. From the traditional Cortland, to the Spartan, you can also pick the large and crisp Lobo (one of my favourites), the Honeycrisp or the Empire. The Silken is available early in the season and the Honey Gold can be picked just at its end.

Mountain Orchard Farm

“We bought the orchard in 1974, knowing nothing about growing apples other than we knew they grew on trees. It was a lot of trial and a lot of error for many years,” explains Shelley Lyall, one of the owners. The Lyall and Hobson families have worked hard since the beginning.

“It seemed like a good idea at the time and being the good hippies we were, the “back to the land” movement was pretty prevalent in those days,” adds Shelley.

Bob Hobson and Phil Lyall grew up together in Manotick, and Shelley joined the group of friends when she was 14 years old. She would marry Phil years later and as she says, the rest is history. “The love of agriculture was more a very big sense of adventure and over the last 40 years we have overcome a challenge or two,” admits Shelley.

Mountain Orchard Farm

Mountain Orchard also offers baked goods such as butter tart, apple cider, and amazingly crispy, incredible, warm apple cider doughnuts. Jacob and I bought six of them when we were done picking and sat at a picnic table enjoying every bite. I would actually go back for the doughnuts alone!

Mountain Orchard Farm

When we got back home, I was very excited and started to bake right away. You can go through my blog to find some delicious apple recipes!!

2 thoughts

  1. Just reading this makes me want to go! You are a wonderful writer Lyne and I look forward to hearing more from you! Love you!

Leave a Reply

