Spiced Apple Cake

Spiced Apple Cake

As fall is slowly taking its place, pushing aside a summer that was one of the happiest I had in many years, I feel very sure to be at the right place, at the right time. Fall, somehow, grounds me, makes me want to stop and focus, and appreciate what I have and the people who surround me.

The upcoming season also comes with a deep nostalgic rumor. I love taking entire evenings to go through old picture albums, to revisit ancient recipes, and more than anything, to take time to be by myself. Maybe it is because summer is filled with friends, dinner parties, camping expeditions, family reunions… maybe it is actually the earth telling us to slow down as well. I don’t really know. But fall probably is my favourite season.

It also is a season that makes it easier to bake again. Because I don’t know about you, but in the summer I only open my oven when it is absolutely necessary. Let’s not add some heat to the heat!

Last weekend, after picking up those lobo apples at Mountain Orchards, I thought it would be the perfect time to try this spiced apple cake recipe I had cut in an old Globe and Mail newspaper. The cake was cooked in a skillet but turned out it worked perfectly in a ceramic pie pan.

Spiced Apple Cake

When Jacob took his first bite, he said it was probably the “tastiest” cake I had done in a while. May I add that I did a slated caramel to drip on top of the cake. Totally to die for! I can’t take the credit for the recipe, but I am more than happy to share it here. It really is a perfect way to end a meal in fall – not too sweet, a touch of salt, some spiced and the delicious taste of apple. What is there not to love?

So here it is, I hope you will try it and enjoy it just as much as us. Original link to the recipe is here.

You will need:
1 ½ cups of flour
¼ teaspoon of baking soda
1 teaspoon of baking powder
A pinch of salt
2 ½ teaspoons of cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon of nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon of ground cloves
6 tablespoons of butter, room temperature
½ cup of brown sugar
¼ cup of granulated sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons of vanilla
2/3 cup of milk
4 lobo apples (or a sweet kind)

In a bowl, mix the flour with baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves.

In another bowl, beat the butter with the brown and granulated sugar until creamy. Beat in one egg at a time, then beat in the vanilla.

Add 1/3 of the dry ingredients and mix well. Add half the milk. Repeat this step until you have added all the flour and milk.

Spread this batter into a 9-inch pie pan (buttered and floured). Insert you pealed and sliced apple in the batter.

Bake at 350F for 30 minutes. Let it cool before serving – make sure to drizzle some salted caramel sauce on top, it makes it even better!

Spiced Apple Cake

Salted Caramel Sauce

You will need:
¼ cup of water
1 cup of sugar
6 tablespoons of butter
½ cup of heavy cream
Natural flower sea salt

In a pan, pour the sugar in the water. Bring to a boil.

Let the sugar boil until it turns a golden-brown colour. Do not whisk too much, just leave the sugar get hot.

Once you have a golden colour, take out the pan from heat and whisk in the butter until smooth, then whisk in the cream.

Transfer in a heat-proof jar and let it cool in the fridge for a while. Enjoy!

Spiced Apple Cake

4 thoughts

Leave a Reply

