Berry Pudding Cake

Berry Pudding Cake

Some days, it feels like all I do is get up, go to work, come back, make dinner, watch an episode of Kitchen Nightmares, do the dishes, cuddle on the couch, go to bed. As if in a blink of an eye, the day was gone and another very similar one was about to begin.

Then there are other days when I come back home, more tired. Those days, all I can do is to bake a cake. That’s all I want to do. I want to measure the flour, I want to melt some butter, I want to beat eggs and taste some sugar. I put my apron on, get my measuring cups out of the cupboard and put on some music. Then I get started.

Once in a while Jacob will come around to inspect what I am doing. Very often he will kiss my neck or my shoulder. I always giggle when he does that. He will also try to have a taste of what I am doing; at which point I kick him out of the kitchen. We laugh.

Berry Pudding Cake

This week I decided to try this berry pudding cake recipe I found in an old Chatelaine magazine. I had some berries in the fridge and I thought I would probably love the gooey texture of the cake.

Jacob absolutely loved it. It was sweet, yet the sweetness was mostly from the berries. It tasted a bit like butter (which we love around here) and it was perfect to enjoy late that evening with a cup of tea.

That night I went to bed thinking I was lucky to have found something I loved doing this much. Even if I don’t have time to bake as much as I wish, I should be grateful for the days I do bake. And then I closed my eyes. When I opened them again, it was another day.

Berry Pudding CakeYou will need:

The cake:
2 tablespoons of butter (room temperature)
½ cup of sugar
2 teaspoons of vanilla
1 ½ cups of flour
2 teaspoons of baking powder
A pinch of salt
¾ cup of milk
2 cups of berries (I picked strawberries, raspberries and blueberries)

The sauce:
¼ cup of butter
½ cup of sugar
¼ cup of heavy cream

What to do:
In a bowl, beat the butter with the sugar and vanilla.

In another bowl, mix the flour, baking powder and salt together.

Add 1/3 of the flour mixture to the butter and beat well. Add half of the milk. Add more flour, then the rest of the milk. Beat in the rest of the flour.

Delicately incorporate the berries and mix with a spatula.

Pour the batter into a buttered pan and bake at 400F for about 30 minutes. Once out of the oven, poke the cake with a knife several times.

While the cake is baking, bring the butter, sugar and cream to a boil in a pot, over medium heat. Reduce to medium-low and let it simmer 5 minutes.

Pour on top of the cake and let sit for 10 to 15 minutes.

Enjoy warm.

3 thoughts

Leave a Reply

