Raspberry Pancakes

Raspberry Pancakes for Sugar Coated Baking.com

I haven’t been blogging a lot since summer has arrived. I have to admit that every second I am not working I try to spend it outside; walk in the park, take a drive, camping, vacations at home in New Brunswick (see Jacob’s pictures of our trip over there on HIS BLOG).

However, over the past 3 days, we have decided to spend some time around Ottawa, Jacob making videos with our friend Todd, working towards what could become a very cool business in Ottawa. As for myself, I managed to do some writing, something I have been scared to do since I got my first manuscript rejected from every French publishing company I had sent it to about 4 years ago.

So over all, it has been a productive 4-day weekend for us. As I woke up this morning rested and grateful for what life has handed to us recently – good and faithful friends, happiness, some insight as to what we really want to do with our lives – I decided to bake some raspberry pancakes.

Raspberry Pancakes for Sugar Coated Baking.com

It is absolutely possible to make them without the raspberries. Actually, Jacob prefers them plain and I do enjoy them quite a lot. But I am also a huge sucker for fruit so as I was dancing and singing to the Walk off the Earth album I baked these with LOTS of love and berries! I hope you will enjoy them just as much if you decide to make them.

Cheers, and don’t forget to pour some maple syrup on top of it all!

You will need:
2 cups of flour
1 tablespoon of sugar
2 teaspoons of baking powder
A pinch of salt
2 1/3 cups of milk
2 eggs
2 cups of chopped raspberries
Maple syrup
Vegetable oil – to cook

What to do:
To make the coulis, purée 1 cup of raspberries. Add about 2 to 3 tablespoons of maple syrup. Strain to get rid of the seeds. Set aside.

In a big bowl, mix the flour with the sugar, baking powder and salt.

In another bowl, beat the eggs with the milk. Pour on top of the dry ingredients and whisk well.

Add ½ cup of chopped raspberries to the batter and mix gently.

Add about a tablespoon of vegetable oil and cook the batter in small batches. I manage to do about 3 pancakes in a pan per batch. Keep warm until they are all ready, cover with raspberry coulis and then enjoy!

3 thoughts

Leave a Reply

