White Chocolate and Cherry Ice Cream

 

White chocolate and cherry ice cream

People who spend time around me can notice two things pretty quickly about my personality. First: that I am slightly ADD – meaning I always need to have a project and do something productive. It has turned into a joke with Jacob; he calls it my “inability to relax” unless I am completely disconnected from everything else. I blame my dad for this one – like father like daughter. Second: that I am highly addicted to ice cream.

There is a reason why I do not buy ice cream. It is because as long as I have some in the freezer, I will serve myself 2 to 3 portions a day without any guilt or second thoughts. I love it! So to keep my sugar and dairy intake to a reasonable level, I allow myself ice cream every 3 days or so. Jacob will “bug” me to go to Dairy Queen – yes that is the closest ice cream place in our area – where I will get a small dip cone and Jacob will get a Blizzard that we will then eat under the trees of the parking lot (very romantic!) or in the car with the windows down in the parking lot (less romantic!).

I came to love this summer tradition of ours. For us, it is the perfect date.

Cherry Ice Cream

When I really do feel like real homemade-ice cream, I go to La Cigale in Chelsea, on the Quebec side. Everything there is made from scratch, from ice cream to waffle-cones to dipping sauces. The store is located in a lovely renovated old house and the backyard has been done up so that people can sit in big chairs and enjoy their treats. For Jacob and I, who think a parking lot is romantic, this is the Cadillac of date spots!

This is where I tasted, for the first time, real white chocolate and cherry ice cream. Since that day, all I wanted to do was recreate it in my kitchen. I won’t say I have achieved this goal, but I came up with a pretty good recipe that I would like to share on the blog today. I hope you will enjoy it just as much as we do.

You will need:
300 ml of milk
½ vanilla pod
1/3 cup of sugar
4 egg yolks
200 grams of white chocolate, chopped
200 ml of cream
1 cup of fresh cherries, cut into small pieces

What to do:
In a bowl, whisk the egg yolks with the sugar.

In a pot over low heat, stir the milk and the inside of ½ a vanilla pod until the milk is warm – do not boil.

Pour about a tablespoon of the hot milk into the eggs and sugar and mix well. Slowly add more milk while stirring constantly.

Once all the milk is in the bowl, pour back the mix into the pot and put on medium-low heat until it thickens. Add the white chocolate and stir until it is all melted. Transfer into a bowl.

Put plastic wrap directly on top of the liquid and put in the fridge until it is completely cool (about 2 hours).

Take the bowl out of the fridge and add the cream and the cherries. Once everything is mixed properly, pour into your ice cream machine for about 20 minutes and then enjoy!

Cherry Ice Cream

3 thoughts

    1. You got to love white chocolate for sure, but I feel in this recipe it balances well with the vanilla and it is not over powering. Maybe the trick is just to keep the amount of w/chocolate reasonable, or maybe you use less if you are not a huge fan. You could also just make this vanilla and cherry, it would be delicious as well.

Leave a Reply

