Mini Red Velvet Cupcakes

 Mini Red Velvet Cupcakes

I love baking cupcakes. Everything from measuring the flour, to cracking the eggs, to sprinkling crystallized sugar on top of the frosting makes me happy. This morning I got up at 7 am and decided to make a batch of these little babies just because I couldn’t think of a better way to start my weekend after being sick for almost a week.

I love this time of the morning. The street is still quiet, you can clearly hear the birds outside, the cat is excited that someone else in the house is awake…Jacob sleeps longer than me so it is pretty much the only moment of the day where I can make myself a coffee, put some music on and appreciate some time alone.

As I was listening to my new favourite song of the moment, Bloom, by The Paper Kites, I started a batch of red velvet mini cupcakes. First sift the flour with the cacao powder and the salt. Then pause to make myself a latte. Keep going by measuring the oil, the buttermilk, the white vinegar and the baking soda in individual bowls. Stop to pet the cat who keeps rubbing against my feet. Mix the oil with the sugar, add the eggs. Add red gel food-colouring and vanilla. Incorporate the rest of the ingredients. Pour into paper pan liners. Bake.

Mini Red Velvet Cupcakes

During that time, the street had started waking up. I saw the neighbors walk their dog, some cars left. I could hear the birds less and less out there as the city was waking up. It was now 8 am. Upstairs I could hear Jacob coughing – a sign he had caught my cold.

As the noise around me became louder, I thanked this small window from 7 to 8 am where I got to bake some cupcakes for the joy of it, listen to very chill music, and silently sip my homemade latte.

Then I made the frosting and started running around, as per usual I was running late to meet a very kind family who were opening the door of their dairy farm to us. I had baked an extra batch of cupcakes to thank them. And by the time Jacob was up and had taken some medicine, we were on the road.

In the car, it felt like I had been awake for half a day. And so I smiled and felt lucky.

For the cupcakes, here is the recipe. The frosting is my own recipe but the batter is once again Martha Stewart’s work. I hope you will enjoy.

Mini Red Velvet Cupcakes

You will need:
2 ½ cups of cake flour
2 tablespoons of cocoa powder
1 teaspoon of salt
1 ½ cups of vegetable oil
1 ½ cups of sugar
2 eggs
Gel-paste food colouring
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1 cup of buttermilk
1 ½ teaspoons of baking soda
2 teaspoons of white vinegar

In a bowl, sift the cake flour, cocoa powder and salt.

In another bowl, whisk the oil with the sugar until the texture is smooth. Add the eggs, one at a time, then the vanilla. Add the food colouring until you get a vibrant red.

Add the flour in 3 batches, alternating with the buttermilk.

In a small bowl, mix the vinegar with the baking soda. Pour into the batter and whisk well.

Pour the batter into cupcake paper cups lined into mini-muffin tins. Bake at 350F for about 20 minutes. Let the cupcakes cool down and then top with cream cheese frosting.

Cream cheese frosting:
5 ounces of cream cheese, room temperature
½ cup of butter, room temperature
2 ½ cups of icing sugar
½ teaspoon of vanilla

Beat the cream cheese with the butter for about 2 to 3 minutes, or until very light and fluffy. Add icing sugar ½ cup at a time. Beat in the vanilla. Spread on top of the cupcakes and enjoy!

9 thoughts

  1. Hi Lyne, l love that you sprinkled in details of what was going on in your environment while you were making those cupcakes. Nice touch. Sorry to hear you were sick for a week, glad you’re better. Spider Boy is recovering from pharyngitis! I have nominated your blog for a Liebster Award. I hope this is something you would be interested in participating in. If so, please check out this link to the latest post on my blog which will tell you about it. http://alexcellentblog.com/2014/06/ . But if you don’t have time or don’t want to, no worries!

    1. Thank you so much Alex! This is very cool and I totally appreciate you nominating Sugar Coated, its so nice 🙂 Poor Spider Boy… I hope he will be fully back on his feet very soon! Thanks again for the nomination, I will absolutely participate and post my answers soon. All the best Alex 🙂 – Lyne PS – Did you ended up making the blueberry and white chocolate square?

      1. Hi Lyne, my pleasure re the Liebster! So happy to be able to nominate your lovely blog. Yes, Spider Boy is back on his feet now and back at school today. He has asked could we please make a chocolate cake this weekend, so we are going to do that, but the white chocolate and blueberry squares are on my list and I will try them out soon and will definitely let you know the results! Have a good weekend.🍰

Leave a Reply

