Apple, Cucumber & Endive Salad

Cucumber Apple Slaw 3

After being away for a week and sleeping in hotels, I have to admit waking up in my house was the best feeling in the world today. Seeing the cat in our bedroom window spying on the birds outside, Jacob asleep after escaping from 5 to 7 am to take pictures of the sunrise…everything felt normal again. Being home rocks.

Being away also means that I am not in a situation to accomplish a lot in regards to the blog which is disappointing, especially since I have been excited for a week now to share one of my new favourite slaw recipes.

Last Monday, Jacob and I decided to crack open a bottle of wine, make some ribs (recipe to come) and enjoy a nice meal together before being apart for a week. As a side, I really wanted to try one of the slaws showcased in the Feb/Mar edition of Donna Hay magazine.

I have to say I got very excited when I found a magazine where ALL the recipes look good, fresh and are presented in an elegant and modern fashion. This edition is not only great but the recipes are screaming “summer”. Her website is full of good recipes, you can visit it by clicking here.

So as a side, we decided to make this apple, cucumber and endive slaw with buttermilk dressing. A very nice variation of a traditional slaw that leaves a fresh taste in your mouth, some notes of apple and lemon complemented by the yogurt and buttermilk dressing.

Cucumber Apple Slaw2

Here is the recipe for you to try (I adjusted a little some quantities). It is not a sweet dressing but instead is a little acidic, which balanced our ribs cooked with some maple syrup. I hope you will enjoy it! I know we did.

You will need:
3 Belgian endives, shredded
1 to 2 cucumbers, thinly sliced
2 Granny Smith apples, cored and thinly sliced
A bunch of chives, chopped
1 cup of buttermilk
½ cup of Greek yogurt
2 teaspoons of Dijon mustard
A good squeeze of lemon juice
Salt and pepper to taste

In a bowl, whisk the buttermilk with yogurt, Dijon mustard, lemon juice, salt and pepper.

Toss with other ingredients to combine. Enjoy!

Cucumber Apple Slaw

5 thoughts

Leave a Reply

