Rhubarb and Strawberry Crumble

Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble

It is this time of the year again: rhubarb time!

Yesterday, Jacob suggested going to the farmers market in Carp, where I had never been. The sun was out – the morning was perfect for an outdoor farmers market.

I didn’t expect to be brought in a small town. The moment we drove into Carp, I was hooked. The market was just one of the perks of being there. There were horses close to us being trained, people were relaxed and seemed happy, the vegetables were all local and fresh and affordable… it was the perfect way to escape a busy city.

Don’t get me wrong: I love Ottawa. But going in the ByWard market for example is always a bit draining. There is a lot of tourists, lots of traffic, and you don’t get the same peaceful feeling as being in the country. There is many other great farmers market in Ottawa, but I have a crush on the Carp market and the main reason is that it is in the country. What can I say: that’s how I grew up, I am a small town girl!

Even if Jacob grew in the city, he is as country as a guy can get. Cruising around the city of Carp, we were thinking at which house we could buy, I dreaming of a big garden, him dreaming of mowing the grass around our bungalow… it was a great day.

Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble

At the market, I got myself some fresh rhubarb – my family has always cooked rhubarb in jam, cakes, crumbles, and pies. My mom used to cut and freeze rhubarb so we would have rhubarb all year long. But nothing taste as good a freshly picked one.

Today I baked a classic rhubarb and strawberry crumble. Always good, sweet, and I have to say it is a dessert that I like just as much for breakfast as an evening treat.

Se there you go! Next time you go to the market, get a bunch of rhubarb and try this recipe! Hopefully you will enjoy it!

You will need:
2 cups of sliced rhubarb
2 cups of diced strawberries
¾ cup of sugar
1 cup of flour
1 1/3 cup of oatmeal
½ cup of brown sugar
A pinch of salt
½ cup of cold butter

In a bowl, mix the rhubarb and strawberries with sugar. Place in the bottom of a large glass bakeware (or individual ramekins).

In another bowl, mix the remaining ingredients, using a cheese scraper to add the butter. Doing so will make it easier to mix everything together with your hands until you get big crumbles.

Pour on top of the fruits.

Bake at 350F for about 30 to 35 minutes, until the top is golden-brown and looks crispy. Let cool and enjoy as is or with a spoon of vanilla ice cream!

Leave a Reply

