Tomato and Basil Salad

Tomato Basil Salad

I sometimes feel like I have done some recipes hundreds of times. Always the same ingredients, the same textures, the same freshness. I may change the plating or the colour of the tomatoes from time to time, but I wouldn’t change the recipe.

It’s like a book you keep reading every year. You already know how it will end, you know the characters, you know how you will feel and just thinking about reading it again gets you excited. I like to think of it as comforting joy.

Or maybe you could compare the feeling to a song you have been listening to since you were a teenager and couldn’t imagine not hearing.

That’s pretty much how I feel about this salad. I don’t remember when I started making it but I know I have been doing it the same way for many years. Each time, I enjoy the colours, I decide of the plating carefully and then I enjoy each bite.

I am also a huge fan of basil. It brings freshness to every meal you incorporate it into, to perfume a meal as only fresh herbs can do. I actually have a basil plant in my kitchen and love using it: to perfume olive oil, to spread on a pizza, in lasagna sauce, on top of a salad or with fruits … the combinations are pretty much endless.

So just as my favourite books – I was never able to just pick one. Some recipes are just part of my seasonal cooking.

This simple, popular, delicious salad is one of my classics. It never goes out of style, is beautiful to look at, and it tastes like summer.

Tomato Basil Salad

 

You will need:
Tomatoes, sliced
Fresh mozzarella – I use mozzarella di buffalo, drained and sliced
Fresh basil, sizzled
Olive oil
Balsamic vinegar
Fresh pepper – optional

Spread your tomatoes on a small plate, putting a slice of mozzarella between every 2 or 3 slices of tomato.

Spread the basil.

Drizzle with olive oil, then with balsamic vinegar.

Add pepper.

Serve as is.

Enjoy!

 

6 thoughts

  1. Back from Italy having this almost every day, with foccacia, and my wife had to make her own cheese and foccacia, so we had this many times in the past couple weeks. Not sure where to get buffalo milk from, but good with regular milk none the less!

    1. Miam – and also you lucky man Chris!!! I am so going to buy foccacia next time I make this, great suggestion! The buffalo cheese is pretty easy to find in stores (even Loblaw’s has it)- It is a bit expensive but I feel it is worth it. Try it and let me know what you think 🙂

  2. Wow, I really love the pictures in this post, especially the one with the oil bottle, very cool! And the recipe of course is something that I really love and cook every now and then, so fresh and perfect for hot days!

    1. Thank you so much 🙂 and I totaly share your feeling about this recipe: always so good and fresh, and yet easy to do 🙂 thanks for stopping by and commenting!!

Leave a Reply

