Vanilla & Raspberry Panna Cotta

Vanilla & Raspberry Panna Cotta

I think we all agree that no matter how much someone loves winter, it was nice this long-weekend to see the sun and enjoy being outside without any sort of coat for pretty much the first time this year. Jacob and I actually went on a shopping spree and got new summer clothes and brand new sandals. To my own surprise, I bought a pair of red shoes that, when wearing them, made me feel like a brand new girl, walking in the sun while holding my man’s hand.

The nice weather doesn’t only make me feel like going shopping. It also makes me want to eat better, healthier, and greener. All these berries at the market looked suddenly more appetizing and perfect for baking so I decided to do a summer, fresh, easy yet delicious dessert to celebrate our last day off of the Victoria Day long-weekend.

I do not have a lot of experience at making panna cotta. This is not something I make very often but it is something I am planning to do and will try to be creative with. The fact that it is a non-bake dessert makes it very interesting for the hot summer days ahead. The other interesting side of it is that you have to make it in advance and let it sit in the fridge for a couple of hours. That alone makes it the perfect dessert when you are having a dinner party.

Vanilla & Raspberry Panna Cotta

Seeing my neighbours having a BBQ, noticing the kids playing outside, and people walking their pets today really made me feel grateful that summer is arriving upon us. I am so looking forward for fresh meals and nice wine to share with friends.

And tonight, as our cat is sleeping after spending the day outside hunting flies and bees and after Jacob and I spent the morning hiking in Gatineau Park, I am already thinking about what I could bake next weekend.

Maybe it is the sun, maybe it is the fact that I feel life has been generous to me in the past two years, but I think this summer is going to be incredible. Filled with great friends, decadent meals, lots of time outside and amazing moments. Today I feel optimistic. I also hope you will like this dessert if you try it at home.

For the panna cotta, you will need:
1 cup of milk
7 grams of gelatin
One vanilla pod, cut in half, the inside scraped
1 cup of cream 35%
1/3 cup of sugar

For the raspberry coulis, you will need:
Fresh raspberries
Maple syrup

Sprinkle the gelatin over the milk in a bowl that can go over a bain-marie. Wait for about 5 minutes.

Put that bowl on top of a boiling pot of water (creating the bain-marie) and heat the milk until the gelatin is completely dissolved.

Once dissolved, take the bowl out of the pot and add the inside of the vanilla pod. Make sure to mix everything well.

In another pot, combine the sugar with the cream and bring the cream almost to a boiling point. As soon as bubbles appear in the cream take it off the heat.

Combine the cream with the milk and mix well.

Divide into 4 cups, and put in the fridge for at least 2 hours.

In a mixer, mash the raspberry with maple syrup until it is sweetened enough to your taste. Strain to get rid of the seeds.

Once the panna cotta is set, pour the raspberry coulis on top and serve immediately. Enjoy!

Vanilla & Raspberry Panna Cotta

7 thoughts

Leave a Reply

