Corn Cakes with Avocado Tartare

Corn Cakes with Avocado Tartar 
I love corn. Always have and probably always will. First it looks beautiful. Then I like how you have to unwrap it and prepare it with care before cooking it. No matter how you use it – in a soup, a salad, on the BBQ or boiled with salt and pepper – corn is a vegetable easy to work with and yet delicious.

I was talking with a friend and farmer from Nova Scotia earlier this week and she was telling me her kids had just started planting corn this week, which is a little later than they like but as we know, winter has been long. She said it should be fine though and that they should get corn around the same time as previous years.

Over all, the discussion made me think not only of how much I can’t wait to have a small piece of land to grow my own food but also that corn was probably one of my favourite vegetables. Maybe one day Jacob and I will have some room to grow our own corn … these thoughts are what I dream about during the day. In the meanwhile, I still enjoy the life in our townhouse and I am looking forward to grow some tomatoes and herbs on our patio this year again.

As I was browsing through the market Saturday in a quest to find inspiration for dinner, I was surprised to see corn on sale. Surprised and very excited. The corn was from Florida. Not local but I couldn’t help bringing half a dozen home to make appetizers that would be marvelous with a Riesling that was already waiting for us in the fridge.

The recipe I am sharing today is one from the LCBO Food and Drinks magazine that I found last year and have made many times since. The corn brings sweetness while the avocado brings freshness. I love serving it, when we are having guests, as finger food before we make it to the table.

Once the corn is cooked, it is very easy to do. You can also prepare the small cakes in advance; they stay moist for at least a couple hours.

I also go easy on the capers and dill pickles as I like them only in very small doses. So feel free to adjust this recipe to your taste. I hope you will enjoy!

Corn Cakes with Avocado Tartar

For the cakes, you will need:
3 cooked corn on the cob, kernels sliced and separated
1 green onion, sliced
¾ cup of flour
2 tablespoons of sugar
½ teaspoon of baking powder
½ teaspoon of baking soda
A good pinch of salt
1 egg
½ cup of buttermilk
1 tablespoon of melted butter
½ teaspoon of vanilla
Oil for frying

What to do:
Mix the corn with the green onion and set aside.

In a bowl, combine the flour with sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In another bowl, whisk the egg with the buttermilk, melted butter and vanilla. Whisk into flour mixture.

Add the corn and mix well. You will get a thick dough.

In a frying pan, cook about one tablespoon of dough in oil 30 to 45 seconds on each sides. Set aside.

For the tartare, you will need:
1 avocado, diced
¼ cup of mayonnaise
1 dill pickle cut into small dices
1 tablespoon of capers, drained
A pinch of salt
Fresh coriander

What do to:
Mix all the ingredients but the coriander in a bowl. Put a spoon of tartare on top of the corn cakes. Top with coriander leaf and serve!

5 thoughts

Leave a Reply

