Butter Chicken Curry

Butter Chicken Curry

I am a huge fan of Indian food. I remember the first time had butter chicken. It was about 10 years ago in Moncton, at a restaurant called Tajmahal. I remember it because this meal made me feel I had missed out on so much in terms of food.

These years were important for me. Freshly out of mom and dad’s house, I was on my own and discovering new ethnic food – among other things – and Indian was a cornerstone in terms of new flavours. I remember the whole meal I had that specific dinner: vegetable samosas, butter chicken, chicken korma, basmati rice, naan bread, and kheer for dessert. I thought I was going to explode, but damn it was good. I still haven’t ever had butter chicken and kheer that were as good as the Tajmahal prepares it.

So through the years, I have started to try some homemade Indian recipes: samosas, butter chicken, vegetable korma, naan bread … I had many disappointments and some small victories in the kitchen. Turns out balancing the flavours and the texture of an Indian curry is harder than it seems. I have tremendous respect for those who master Indian cuisine.

In no way am I insinuating that I am an expert on Indian cooking. This is simply a recipe I have found years ago in an LCBO magazine for a fish recipe and that I adapted until I was happy with it. I hope you will like it if you decide to try it.

Butter Chicken Curry

You will need:
2 tablespoons of olive oil
2 tablespoons of curry paste – I use mild curry paste
2 teaspoons of finely diced ginger
Chicken breasts cut in big cubes
1 big yellow onion, chopped
1 tablespoon of finely diced ginger
2 to 3 garlic cloves, mashed
2 teaspoons of ground coriander
2 teaspoons of ground cumin
* 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper if you like your meal spicy
400 ml of diced canned tomatoes with their juice
1 cup of chicken stock
1/2 cup of coconut milk
3 tablespoons of mango chutney
Fresh coriander
Sliced almonds

Step 1:
Marinate the chicken in the olive oil, curry paste and 2 teaspoons of ginger. Cover and put in the fridge for about 3 hours.

Step 2:
In a frying pan, drizzle some olive oil and cook the onion for about 3 to 4 minutes. Add the ginger and the garlic and stir for another minute. Add the coriander, cumin and red cayenne pepper and make sure to mix well.

Add the tomatoes with their juice as well as the chicken stock. Bring to a boil, then let simmer on medium-low heat for about 15 minutes.

Add the coconut milk and let simmer for another 10 minutes, or until the liquid seems creamier.

Add the mango chutney and mix well.

Put everything in the blender and crush the ingredients until you get a smooth texture.

Step 3:
In a frying pan, pour-in the chicken with its marinade and cook on medium heat.

Once the chicken is cooked, pour the tomato mixture in the pan and heat it well.

Stet 4:
Transfer the chicken to a bowl and sprinkle with fresh coriander and sliced almonds. Serve with basmati rice, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

