Strawberry Shortcake

Strawberry Shortcake

As it is Mother’s Day, I thought I would share one of my mom’s favourite recipes. Even if I am far, I guess it would be a way of telling her I am thinking about her and wish I would be sharing dessert with her today.

My mom and I love strawberries. When I was still living in Village-Blanchard, we would go to a strawberry field near our house to pick them by hand during the summer. We would go as soon as they came out, making sure to freeze many for the year to come. She would always have to warn me to stop eating them as I was picking them up, making a joke that I should be weighed before and after getting to the field in order to pay for the ones I couldn’t help but eat.

One of her favourite desserts is strawberry shortcake. This is why today I am posting this homemade recipe for an easy mother’s day dessert.

Strawberry Shortcake

The cake:
2 cups of flour
2 ½ teaspoons of baking powder
2 tablespoons of sugar
A good pinch of salt
1/3 cup of butter, shredded
1 cup of half and half cream
2 egg yolks

Strawberries:
1 cup of fresh strawberries, diced
2 tablespoons of maple syrup

Cream:
1 cup of 35% cream
Icing sugar (to taste)

Step 1:
In a big bowl, combine the flour with the baking powder, sugar and salt. Add the shredded butter and mix with your hands until you get a sandy texture.

In a cup, beat the egg yolks with the half and half cream. Slowly pour in the flour and mix as you go with a spatula. The dough will be thick.

With a spoon, on a baking pan lined with parchment paper, make 5-inch round forms with the batter. Adjust the edges of the batter with your hands if needed.

Bake on a baking sheet for about 10 minutes at 425F (the oven rack should be on the upper third of the oven).

Let it cool before serving.

Step 2:
Mix the strawberries with the maple syrup and let it sit for about an hour before serving.

Step 3:
Whisk the 35% cream with icing sugar.

Step 4:
Serve the cake with a spoon of strawberries and a spoon of cream, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

