Banana, Oatmeal and Maple Muffins

Banana Oatmeal Muffins

I woke up at about 6 a.m. last Tuesday. As I finally came to the conclusion I would not fall back asleep, I went downstairs, got a glass of orange juice, and started looking in the fridge for something to eat. As I should have known, I was overdue for grocery shopping. I had 2 ripe bananas, half a carton of milk, some margarine … wait, back up: ripe bananas! The perfect ingredient for any baker!

As I was getting ready to do banana bread before going to work I saw some oatmeal in the closet, which reminded me of a healthy banana muffin recipe I used to do years ago. No sugar, banana and oatmeal – and quickly cooked.

Within 40 minutes, the muffins were made from scratch and baked. It is the perfect breakfast to bring to your office or to eat in the car for those of you who really are rushing to get to work. As for me, I enjoyed my freshly baked muffin that morning sitting at the kitchen counter before going to work, happy that I woke up early that day. Something I am seriously thinking of doing more often. 

Banana Oatmeal Muffins

You will need:
1 ½ cups of flour
2 teaspoons of baking powder
1 teaspoon of baking soda
A pinch of salt
1 egg
1/3 cup of butter (or margarine)
½ cup of maple syrup
1 cup of oatmeal
½ cup of milk
2 ripe bananas, mashed
½ cup of sliced almonds

The steps:
In a bowl, mix the flour with the baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In another bowl, whisk the butter with the maple syrup and the egg. Add the oatmeal with a wooden spoon (or with the paddle attachment on your mixer).

Add half the flour mix, then half of the milk. Repeat with the remaining flour and milk.

Beat in the bananas, then the almonds.

Pour batter into muffin paper and bake at 350F for about 25 minutes, or until cooked. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

