Wild Berry Cake

Wildberry Cake

If you were to ask me what I did today, I would simply say, “I ran around”. As I am in the process of dealing with last minutes details of a pretty big event I’ve been working on for the past two months, I was very happy to come back home for a little break before going back in town to work for the evening.

And you know what was very comforting? Having a piece of cake after dinner. There, on my couch while Jacob is watching a documentary about the War on Terror on TMN, I felt relaxed for the first time today. The fruits were sweet, the cake moist, the crumble was perfection.

This is what I like about cake. No matter how your day went, a piece of cake will make everything better. Think about it! If you want to celebrate something, you will get a cake on the way home! If you feel sad, you may want to bake yourself a chocolate cake and have a piece with a glass of red wine. Having people over? A cake is the way to finish the evening. I am telling you: cake is the certainty of finding comfort.

So as I am mentally preparing myself to drive back half an hour to go prep the room for our evening tomorrow morning, I am just thinking how great of an idea it was to come back here for an hour. Because now I had cake, and everything was better.

Wildberry Cake

This is also a recipe that is perfect for summer. In fact, I bake this pretty much every time I am asked to go to a BBQ. You can make it in advance and it stays fresh for at least a day. Served with whipped cream or vanilla ice dream, it is a great desert. I hope you will have a chance to try it.

Special mention to the marzipan: probably one of my favourite ingredients in baking. I am making a mental note to use it more often. It is so good! It is also a recipe from the LCBO magazine, I just adjusted some of the quantities.

You will need:

The topping:
2/3 cup of flour
¼ cup of brown sugar
5 ounces of marzipan, shredded
1/3 cup of butter, shredded

The cake:
¾ cup of Flour
¾ teaspoon of baking powder
1/8 teaspoon of baking soda
a pinch of salt
¼ cup of butter, room temperature
2 tablespoons of brown sugar
2 tablespoons of cream cheese
1 egg
¼ cup of sour cream

Wild berries (about 2 to 3 cups)

What do to:
For the topping, mix the flour with brown sugar. Add the shredded marzipan and butter and work with you hands until it turns into little balls.

Set aside.

In a bowl, mix the rest of the flour with baking powder, soda and salt.

In another bowl, beat the butter with the brown sugar. Add the cream cheese. Add the egg and beat well. Add the sour cream.

Pour the cake batter into a glass pie pan. Pour the fruits on top. Then spread the topping.

Bake at 350F for about 40 minutes. Let it cool and enjoy with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream!

Leave a Reply

