My Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Every baker or home-cook should have a chocolate chip cookie recipe in their back pocket. It’s a classic. It’s comforting. It’s perfection.

Yesterday was brutal here in Ottawa. It rained all day. From the moment I opened my eyes until bedtime, all I could hear were those drops hitting the windows and all I could see was this grey and smoky sky. I needed something comforting but quick to do since I also wanted to take some down time with my chamomile tea. I wanted my cake and I wanted to eat it too!

Looking through my hand written recipe book, I saw an old one I had not baked in a very long time: chocolate-chip cookies. Normally, I chop some half-sweetened chocolate for those cookies but since I was in a grey mood, I opted for milk chocolate already shaped into pieces. A little more sweet, a bit less work, just as much pleasure.

Of course Jacob was skeptical when he saw that my cookies were not thick and melting. I told him they were a bit crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. That didn’t seem to convince him. He had to taste them to acknowledge how good they actually were.

We then did the pictures and by 9pm, I was able to sit down and enjoy my chamomile and two chocolate chip cookies while chilling on our couch. I just had my cake and was eating it too! For the rare time this happens in life, I enjoyed it. Outside, the rain didn’t stop but I was not noticing anymore. I was home.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

You will need:
2 cups of flour
1 teaspoon of baking soda
A pinch of salt
1 cup of butter
1 cup of brown sugar
½ cup of sugar
2 eggs
1 ½ teaspoons of vanilla extract
2 cups of chopped, half-sweetened chocolate (or milk chocolate)

In a bowl, mix the flour with the baking soda and the salt.

In another bowl, beat the butter with the brown sugar, and the sugar, until smooth.

Beat in one egg at a time.

Add the flour in 3 batches, mixing well between each addition. Add the chocolate.

Spoon the dough on a cookie pan and bake at 350F for about 10 minutes, or until golden.

Let them cool on a rack and voilà! Ready to enjoy!

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

