Classic Waffles

Waffles

I believe I have had my fair share of waffle makers. I went through at least 3 or 4 since I first moved from my parent’s house.

Growing up, it wasn’t something we would do for our weekend breakfasts. My mom was more into pancakes and my dad didn’t really seem to have a preference. So it’s only through restaurants that I started having a crush on waffles. I believe Cora’s were my favourite …

However they ended up one of my favourite items on the breakfast menu, you understand it became essential for me to make them at home. Over the years, I realized that some of the “non-stick” plates became very sticky no matter the amount of oil you could spread on them, some machines lost their heat the more you used them.

This morning I was very excited to use my NEW machine for the first time. I got it for Christmas but still didn’t have a chance to try it (it’s a shame, I know). I thought it might be worth giving a quick review of this Cuisinart 4-Slice Belgian Waffle Iron.

Waffles

One thing I liked right away is the six adjustable browning settings, plus the off position. I love my waffles less crusty than others and love the fact that I can adjust it on such a wide range. I have to say though that the waffle maker looks good. But would it bake me great waffles?

The first thing I noticed is that the top of the maker doesn’t seem heavy duty. Which for someone like me who uses her tools until they break is not a good sign … it makes me think this waffle maker won’t last very long, just as the ones I had before.

Overall the machine did well. Very easy to operate, it cooks the waffles to the right temperature right away and leaves them crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. It works pretty fast as well so you do not have to wait long before enjoying them. And a bonus point: it was very easy to clean. I believe this waffle maker and I will have a long-term relationship.

Waffles

So this morning I did a crème pâtissière to pour on the waffles and cut some fruits I had in the fridge to bring some freshness. Jacob and I both topped this gigantic and beautiful waffle with real maple syrup, et voilà! Classic waffles with fruits and delightful crème pâtissière. The perfect way to start the weekend!

You will need:
1 ¼ cups of flour
2 teaspoons of baking powder
½ teaspoon of salt
2 eggs, white and yolks divided
1 ½ cups of milk
4 tablespoons of vegetable oil

In a bowl, stir the flour with the baking powder and the salt.

In another bowl, mix the egg yolks with the eggs and the milk. Stir in the flour mix.

In a third bowl, whisk the egg whites until they are fluffy and firm.

Delicately fold the egg whites in the first mix and make sure everything is well blended.

Bake in small quantities in the waffle maker, and enjoy!

* Click here to have the full recipe for crème pâtissière.

Leave a Reply

