Buttermilk and Wild Blueberry Cake

Buttermilk and Blueberry Cake

In our home, there is something we never run out of: wild blueberries, freshly picked in New Brunswick every summer. See, my grand father and some of my aunts and uncles own a blueberry farm and every year, we get to enjoy and stock up on these amazing berries.

So at any time of the year, I am in good shape if I ever need blueberries. This is why this week, when I was craving a nice blueberry cake, I only had to open up my freezer and there they were: small blue berry’s, ready to be baked.

Another thing I am starting to always keep in the house is buttermilk. I love it! I will agree it is not as healthy as milk but it gives cakes and muffins such a great taste and softer texture, I just choose to use it whenever I can.

So buttermilk and blueberries are a great mix (see my blueberry and buttermilk pancake recipe). As far as the cake goes, I adapted a recipe my mom used to make when we were young. Not a lot, just a tinny bit, but my first change was to substitute the milk with buttermilk.

My mom also uses margarine instead of real butter in her recipe. I have to admit this is cutting down on fat and it still gives you a moist and flavourful cake.

So here it is, a great yet simple way to make a delicious cake. I am also including my mom’s brown sugar sauce recipe that you can pour on top of your cake if you have a sugary tooth.

I hope you will enjoy it!

Buttermilk and Blueberry Cake

You will need:
1 cup of sugar
1/3 cup of margarine
2 eggs
¾ cup of buttermilk
1 teaspoon of vanilla
1 ½ cups of flour
2 ½ tablespoons of baking powder
A pinch of salt
1 cup of wild blueberries

In a bowl, mix the flour with the baking powder and the salt. Set aside.

In another bowl, mix the sugar with the margarine.

Add the eggs, one at a time. Mix until you get a smooth texture.

Add the flour in two batches, alternating with the buttermilk.

Once you have a creamy mixture, delicately add the blueberries and mix with a wooden spoon.

Poor into a greased and floured pan and bake at 350F for about 40 minutes.

Let it cool before adding the brown sugar sauce (optional).

Brown sugar sauce:
In a saucepan, bring 1 cup of brown sugar, one cup of water and 3 tablespoons of flour to a boil.

Boil for 10 minutes, whisking constanly.

Pour on top of the cake and enjoy!

Buttermilk and Blueberry Cake

Leave a Reply

