Strawberry Clafoutis

Clafoutis

Why is it that cherries are so hard to find? I have been craving a cherry clafoutis for over a week and have been looking around for cherries without any success. It seems to me that cherries are in stores three weeks in the course of the year.

Canned cherries and cherries in syrup are easy to find, don’t get me wrong. But fresh ones are rare things in this city; when you find some, hold on to them!

As I was growing irritated with my dead-end search, yesterday I decided to do a clafoutis but with another fruit I normally always have in my fridge: strawberries.  I had seen clafoutis made with plums, others with berries. Might as well give it a shot with the strawberries.

Turned out it was delicious. Seriously, the recipe I am sharing today is easy and quick to do, and I will admit Jacob and I almost ate the whole clafoutis between the both of us – same night I baked it.

But before I share it, let’s get back to why cherries are rare to find! Looking online, I have learned that they have a very short peaking season and that they have a tendency to loose their freshness very quickly. Combine the fact that they have a very short growing season and it basically makes them non-commercially viable in their freshly picked form.

The website The Kitchn has a short, yet complete, article about the different varieties of cherries and it explains a bit more what makes them so fragile and hard to find. You can access the complete post by clicking here.

In the meanwhile, and because I couldn’t find any fresh cherries, here is my recipe for strawberry clafoutis. I hope you will like it! You can also replace the strawberries with blueberries, or fruits, or if you are lucky enough, fresh delicious cherries.

Clafoutis

You will need:
½ cup of sugar
¼ cup of melted butter
2 eggs
½ cup of cream
½ cup of milk
A pinch of salt
1 teaspoon of vanilla
1 cup of flour
Strawberries
Pieces of almonds (optional)

In a bowl, whisk together the sugar, butter and the egg.

Add the cream and the milk. Beat in the vanilla.

Progressively add the flour and the salt.

Place the fruits at the bottom of a buttered pie plate.

Gently pour the dough on top of the fruit.

Bake at 350F for about 50 minutes. Let it cool and enjoy!

*To give it a crunchy side, I added some pieces of almonds. Loved it.

5 thoughts

  1. Je viens de faire cette recette pour réchauffer le cœur de la maisonnée après cette tempête de trop. Succès!

  2. I bet this would be delicious. Funny, I just bought a can of cherries yesterday to make cherry muffins. Fresh cherries are plentiful in Australia for a few weeks in summer, but they are very expensive. They are a Christmas treat for us!

    1. Yes it seems they are in store only for a couple of weeks. And they are expensive here as well! You should actually try this recipe – I bet it would turn good. It is easy. Now I don’t think canned cherries would work (unless rinced) but if you try it, let me know how it turns! Will you update your readers (like myself) about the cherry muffins?

      1. I still haven’t got to those cherry muffins! I did make a good fruit/oat slice with dried fruits. Very delicious. I think next weekend could be cherry muffin time. Will let you know!x

Leave a Reply

