Classic Crêpes

 Crepes

I believe every baker should have a basic crêpe recipe. Why? Because they are easy to do, delicious, versatile, and healthy.

I had this thought when I was living in Moncton. I use to love this restaurant Café Archibald (still very successful) where their specialty was crêpe. My favourite was the French Crêpe made with black forest ham, asparagus, green onions, mozzarella and Swiss cheese with hollandaise sauce. A pure delish!

It became essential to me to be able to make them at home.  I tried different recipes but the one I am sharing with you today is the one that made its mark. It is a recipe I got from Gordon Ramsay‘s book Desserts, an easy and perfect way to make crêpes.

I love how thin they are but yet I can move them as I want without breaking them. Make no mistake: they are fragile while hot so be careful when flipping them, but once out of the pan, you can pretty much fold them as you want without breaking them.

You can also make them as big or small as you want, using the amount of batter in the pan as you wish, always making sure to spread it even.

Crêpes are easy. They make wonderful breakfasts, desserts or even a meal. Be inspired and play with them. Add your favourite ingredients, a sauce, and enjoy.

Crepes

This morning, we filled them with fresh fruits and poured maple syrup on top, making them sweet and delicious, while still nutritious.

I also have a soft spot for folded crêpes with only maple syrup. Delicious!

I hope you will like them as much as I do.

You will need:
1 cup of flour
One pinch of salt
1 tablespoon of melted butter
2 eggs
1 1/3 cups of milk

In a bowl, mix the flour with the salt.

Add the butter, the eggs and half of the milk. Whisk by hand until well blended.

Add the rest of the milk and whisk again.

Let the batter sit for about 45 minutes.

In a pan, cook the batter in a little bit of oil. Let it cook for about 30 seconds on each side.

These crêpes can be kept for a couple of days. Just re-heat them in a pan or in a microwave and enjoy.

Crepes

Leave a Reply

