White Chocolate, Cranberry and Almond Scones

Scones

Lately I have been trying to bake things I’ve either never baked before or have never really had interest in. Scones are a perfect example of something I ordered, maybe twice, at a coffee shop and never baked before.

As I was going through what I had in my pantry, I decided to try making scones for the first time.  Might as well give it a shot and see if I could bake decent ones.

A good friend of mine offered me a recipe book for my last birthday and I remembered it for having 5 or 6 different scone recipes. So this morning I grabbed Rosie Daykin’s Butter Baked Goods and spent time studying her basic scone recipe, comparing it to other recipes online and in other books I have.

Sipping my coffee and eating my fruit, my research led me to realize that buttermilk, butter, flour, and sugar is pretty much the base – there are no eggs. I am so used to putting eggs in pretty much everything I bake that I have to admit I was kind’ of surprised.

As I would understand it, even though baking scones is relatively easy, making them the right size is another story.  My recipe was calling for 10 scones, I ended up with gigantic scones, cutting them in half by the end to make them a bit more reasonable in size.

To be very honest, making half the recipe is probably enough to make 8 to 10 scones. But if you really like scones, are having some people over one afternoon, or want to make an easy dessert for an evening with friends, I believe the full recipe will suit your needs.

And ok I have to say it: it is very good. I ate a gigantic one with my afternoon coffee today and it was delicious.

So here is how I adapted the recipes from Butter Baked Goods ¾ a great book for those of you who love old-fashioned desserts.

*Again: feel free to cut the recipe in half! *

Scones

You will need:
5 cups of flour
1 1/3 cups of granulated sugar
3 tablespoons of baking powder
A pinch of salt
1 ½ cups of unsalted butter, room temperature
1 1/3 cups of buttermilk
6 ounces of chopped white chocolate
½ cup of dried cranberries
½ cup of sliced almonds
1 teaspoon of almond extract

For the finishing (egg wash):
Whisk 1 egg with 2 tablespoons of water. Set aside.

In a bowl, mix the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.

Add the butter slowly, beating well between each addition. The goal is to create large crumbs.

Add the chocolate, cranberries, and almonds and mix again.

Incorporate the almond extract into the buttermilk, and slowly add this to the dry ingredients.

On a floured surface, work the dough with your hands until it is non sticky.

Press half the dough into an 8-inch disk using a metal torte-ring, making sure the dough is about an inch thick. If you don’t have a metal torte-ring, use a rolling pin.

Cut each disk into 8 wedges, and place each piece on a parchment-lined baking sheet.

Brush each scone with the egg wash. You can also sprinkle coarse sanding sugar on top of the scones.

Bake at 400F for about 20 minutes.

Let it chill and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

