Maple Pecan Pie

Pecan Pie

Maple has always been one of my favourite food-products, and a great treat. I use it in my regular baking, on top of a mountain of pancakes, in my salad dressing, to caramelise meat on the BBQ, in my marinades, on top of fruit with yogurt … I have a serious addiction to it, so much so that this blog was almost named The Maple Baker.

My favourite time of the year, when I was young, was actually when we would get to go to the “cabane à sucre” with my class. I loved the fact that it was in the woods. I loved seeing the horses walking around and pulling families on the sled. I was amazed by the quantity of trees and the buckets attached to them, as well as the process surrounding the making of maple syrup. I liked the silence mixed with our childish screams, the animal tracks in the snow, and the maple taffy we enjoyed all day long. There is something magical about the “cabane à sucre” that I can’t explain, but maple syrup not only is a delicious product but it reminds me of great times as a child.

March being Maple Month, I thought it would be in good taste to share a recipe that highlights this amazing Canadian product. Choosing which one to share was more problematic …

Pecan pie is not a tradition in our kitchen. Growing up, I use to think it was too sweet and nutty. But as things changed, so did my sugar tooth. And this pie, I have to say, is pretty good! I do not add chocolate to it. I keep my version of this pie very simple as I want to enjoy the taste of the maple syrup and not just chocolate and pecan. For that reason, I do not put a lot of pecan and I do not add any other sort of nuts in the mix.

It is a simple and sweet pie that feels just right for this time of year. I hope you will get a chance to try it. I made small individual pies but you could just do a big one and bake it about 10 to 15 minutes longer. Topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream or crème fraiche, it is a typical homemade dessert. Enjoy!

Pecan Pie

You will need:
Pie dough (instructions below)
125g of softened butter
125g of brown sugar
2 eggs
4 tablespoons of flour
A pinch of salt
175ml of maple syrup
Pecans

For the pie dough:
Combine in a food processor once cup of flour, ½ teaspoon of baking powder and a pinch of salt.

Add 1/3 of butter, one piece at a time, mixing between each addition.

Add water, one spoon at a time, until you get a wet, yet not sticky, dough.

When the dough starts to stick together, knead it on a floured work surface.

Using a rolling-pin, gently but firmly roll the dough on a floured work surface until you get the shape of a nice circle that will fit in your pan. I suggest using a removable pie-pan.

The filling:
In the bowl of a mixer, whisk the butter until it is smooth and creamy.

Add the sugar and mix well.

In another bowl, beat the eggs and add to the first mix.

Add the flour and the salt.

Slowly add the maple syrup and whisk everything well.

Pour the filling into the pie.

Sprinkle with pieces of pecan.

Up it goes in the oven for about 25 to 30 minutes if you do small pies, or 40 minutes for a normal size pie.

Enjoy with a spoon of crème fraiche or vanilla ice cream!

Pecan Pie

2 thoughts

Leave a Reply

