Vanilla Bean Madeleines

Madeleines

Every baker has a go-to recipe when they feel like having something sweet without having to go through the trouble of making too much of a mess or taking to much time out of an evening.

Vanilla bean Madeleines is my go-to recipe. Whether I am having people over on short notice or if I want an after dinner snack to enjoy with my chamomile tea, this is my treat: quick, easy, delish!

Somehow when I make these, I always think about Jacob’s mom. I used to bake her these shortly after a surgery she went under last winter and I remember her liking them so much! I would do a batch from time to time in the evening and let the kitchen fill with the sweet vanilla smell. Every time, she would come from her bedroom with a large smile and she would sit with me at the kitchen table and we would talk for a while, eating a couple of them.

Madeleines

I guess they are part of my “comfort-food” repertoire. They are the cookies I make late in the evening and that reminds me of good people. I think this is why I like baking so much … because of the memories that are attached to many recipes.

So here is the recipe for vanilla bean Madeleines. I hope you will like them and that you will have the chance to share them with someone special.

You will need:
120 grams of butter
Half a vanilla bean
90 grams of cake flour, sifted
0.5 gram of baking powder
2 eggs
90 grams of sugar

Scrape the inside of the vanilla bean and place it in a pot with the vanilla pod and the butter. Over medium-high heat, melt the butter with the vanilla bean until the butter turns golden-brown.

Transfer into a small bowl and let it cool for 5 minutes. Discard the vanilla pod.

In a bain-mari, whisk the eggs with the sugar until it warms up to about 100F.

In another bowl, mix the cake flour with the baking powder.

Add the flour to the egg mixture, mixing well until the batter is smooth.

Add the butter and mix well until everything is evenly mixed.

Let the batter rest for about an hour.

Pipe the dough in a buttered and floured Madeleine pan. You can also use a spoon to fill the pan and use a muffin pan if you don’t have a Madeleine pan.

Bake at 450F for about 10 minutes. Enjoy!

Madeleines

2 thoughts

  1. These cookies bring back good memories in a ‘not so nice’ period of time for me. I can almost smell them baking when I see and read your blog.

    Thanks Lyne for that special time.

Leave a Reply

