The Day I Made Chocolate Soufflé

Chocolate Soufflé Recipe

Today is a big day. For the first time in my life I made soufflé. I don’t think anyone realizes how big of a deal this is for me. I don’t even know if I will be able to sleep…

It’s not a big deal because of the fact that it is the first time I attempted the recipe. It is important because it is a soufflé!

You have to understand that for the longest time, I was scared of soufflé. My fear comes from watching Gordon Ramsay on television yelling at home-cooks, explaining how soufflé is complicated to do even for a chef, and swearing at “disgusting” soufflé.

So, in a nutshell, today I decided to attempt to hike my Everest and gave the big finger to Gordon. I had watched enough shows and tutorials to try it myself.

I read the recipe at least 4 times, making sure I knew exactly what to do without having to look back at it. I measured everything before hand, double checking everything. It was the baking Olympics in my kitchen and even if I was the only candidate to win the gold, I was feeling the pressure alright!

Well ladies and gentleman, it turned out great! I could not believe it! I made soufflé and it went well! Then, to my biggest shame, I ate the whole thing. I did not just take a bite or two, I ate every single drop of soufflé. It was yummy!

Before I give you the recipe I followed, here are some tricks that will help you bake the perfect soufflé.

First, butter the inside of your ramekin with a brush. Make sure to brush every single spot. Then dust with sugar (or finely chopped chocolate). This will give some grip to your soufflé when it starts rising. Put your ramekin in the fridge while you make the batter. Don’t over-whisk your egg whites, and use them room temperature. Last but not least, serve your soufflé when they are just out of the oven.

Maybe I should take credit for the fact that I pretty much nailed my first soufflé. But I also think I have to secretly thank Gordon for making it such a fun path leading to this moment.

Chocolate Soufflé Recipe

You will need:
Softened butter
Sugar
100 grams of 70% dark chocolate, chopped
40 ml of heavy cream
½ teaspoon of vanilla
3 egg whites, room temperature
20 grams of sugar
2 egg yolks

What to do:
Brush butter in ramekins. Dust with sugar.

Over bain-mari, melt the chocolate with the cream and the vanilla. Let it cool a bit.

Whisk the egg whites with the sugar until you get soft peaks.

In another bowl, whisk the egg yolks until they get pale. Add in half the chocolate and mix well. Add the rest of the chocolate.

With a spatula, delicately add half the egg whites to the chocolate mix. Fold gently until completely mixed. Add the rest of the egg whites and mix until the batter is smooth.

Pour into the ramekin. Place your ramekin onto a cookie plate and bake for about 10 minutes at 375F.

Coat the top with icing sugar.

Serve immediately.  And enjoy!

Leave a Reply

