No-bake white chocolate cheesecake with blackberry coulis

White Choco cheesecake

This dessert is da-bomb. Especially for an event like Valentine’s Day dinner.

Like seriously.

It is so good that I once had a guest licking his plate after eating this no-bake cheesecake. It is THAT amazing.

No need to tell you this is a dessert I prepare when I want to impress people that have agreed to join Jacob and I for a dinner party. It is fresh, has a nice fruit coulis that brings a bit of acidity to balance the sweetness of the cake, and it looks beautiful. It also needs to be made in advance so it is perfect when you have other things to take care of in preparation of a big night.

So whenever we have new friends over or I want to make an impression, this is my go-to dessert.

I wish I could take the credit for this recipe, but it is a dessert I found in one of my favorite magazines, Bon Appétit. I love that magazine. The pictures are always incredible and inspiring and the recipes always offer a good degree of difficulty – not enough to make me want to give up, but a high enough degree of difficulty to be fun. And it makes me explore new techniques and discover new products.

Back to my main point: the non-bake white chocolate cheesecake with blackberry coulis. I remember the first time I made it, I was having two of my girlfriends over for dinner and needed a dessert I could make the night before. Going through the Bon Appétit website, I found this recipe that I then tried, tasted, and since then adopted as a classic in my kitchen.

So this Valentine’s Day, try this dessert. Make the coulis with the fruit you like the most (or is available to you) and share the love!!

White-choco cheesecake2

You can find the whole recipe here, or follow these instructions, and enjoy every bite of it!

You will need:
3 and ½ ounces of gingersnap cookies
2 and ½ tablespoons of butter, melted
3 and ½ ounces of white chocolate, melted on a bain-mari
8 ounces of cream cheese
½ teaspoon of unflavored gelatin
2 tablespoons of water
½ cup of plain yogurt
½ teaspoon of vanilla extract
¼ cup of sugar

What to do:
Grind the gingersnap cookies with the melted butter. Spread this mixture into muffin-cup pan filled with plastic wrap.  Make sure you leave enough plastic wrap on the sides of the cup to grab onto once you want to take the cheesecakes out of the mold.

In a small bowl, sprinkle the gelatin over 2 tablespoons of water. Let it sit for 5 minutes.

On a simmering pot of boiling water, place the bowl with gelatin on top (bain-mari technique)and stir until gelatin dissolves.

In another bowl, mix the cream cheese with the yogurt until creamy texture. Add the vanilla extract and the sugar and mix well.

Add the melted chocolate.

Add the melted gelatin.

Pour the mix on top of the crushed gingersnap cookies and refrigerate overnight, or at least 4 to 5 hours.

For the coulis:
Crush some berries with sugar until sugary enough. When times come to serve the mini cheesecake, pour a spoon of coulis on top and serve.

White-choco cheesecake3

Leave a Reply

