Valentine’s Day Decadent Brownies

brownies 1

I love Valentine’s Day.

I love it because, as so many other holidays, I associate it with great food and decadent desserts.

Even when I was living alone, I always made a point of making a delicious home-cooked dinner on Valentine’s Day and eat with my cat, looking at me from the sofa. I would light up candles and be happy to be sitting there eating well. I know this sounds like I am a closet-case of crazy-cat-lady, but I just enjoy making an elaborate meal, even if I am alone.

I also love Valentine’s Day because it is associated with flowers. I love freshly cut flowers: wilds ones, colorful, beautiful. I am a romantic, so this day was mine to appreciate since the moment I was born.

Leading up to this Friday, I will do my best to post many dessert ideas for your special evening. Whether you are alone and looking into your pet’s eyes, or making food for that special someone that you are lucky to have in your life- either a lover or a friend- I hope you will find a comforting yet delicious treat to highlight this romantic day.

Today I am proposing this amazing, moist yet with a light crust on the outside, rich brownie. Enjoy it with chocolate ganache (see chocolate glaze), with a spoon of vanilla ice cream, or simply as it is. It’s easy to do without messing up your kitchen, and quick. This recipe will leave you plenty of time to focus on what matters; enjoying the evening.

You will need:
¾ cup of butter, room temperature
4 and ½ ounces of unsweetened chocolate
2 eggs
1 and ½ cup of sugar
A pinch of salt
1 and ½ teaspoon of vanilla
1 cup of pastry flour, sifted
1 ounce of semi-sweet chocolate, chopped

In a bain-mari, melt the chocolate with the butter until the temperature reach 120 F.

In another bowl, beat the eggs with the sugar for about 7 to 8 minutes on medium speed.

Add in the salt and the vanilla.

Beat in the melted chocolate. Add the flour and mix everything well.

Place a parchment paper in the bottom of a square pan and spread in the batter.

Bake at 325 F for about 40 minutes, or until the middle is set.
brownies 2

See other recipes that look amazing:

http://www.thebootblog.net/2014/02/double-chocolate-secret-ingredient.html
http://lecremedelacrumb.com/2013/11/peppermint-cheesecake-swirl-brownies.html
http://willcookforsmiles.com/2012/10/nutella-brownies-with-hazelnuts_23.html

Leave a Reply

