Banana and Blueberry Muffins

muffins

I used to love muffins in the morning. I actually believe my years at university had been fueled by blueberry muffins. Almost every morning, on my way to class, I would stop for a giant cup of coffee and a muffin – it may not come as a suprise, I am the kind of girl who will gladly have pie in the morning.

As I got older, and wiser, I tried to balance my meals and start my day with better food than a mix of sugar and butter. Foods such as eggs and fruit – which are also great I have to admit. So whenever I have a pain au chocolat, an almond-croissant, or a muffin for breakfast I really do enjoy it!

As I was waking up the other day and slowly getting into the motions of pouring myself a glass of orange-tangerine juice, I came to notice some bananas on the counter and remembered that my freezer was full of wild blueberries my mom had just brought me back from New Brunswick.

How could I possibly not bake muffins. I mean I was going to lose the bananas if I was not eating them right away and I had to eat those blueberries one way or another. So might as well put some crumble on top of these muffins to make them really good. When you go out, might as well go all out. Same with baking.

As a result, these little babies you can see in the main picture for this post were born. And eaten. And loved. And well, they were fairly good. Tiny but delicious. Hope you will have a chance to try these at home!

You will need :
½ cup of butter
1 ¼ cup of sugar (a bit less if your bananas are really ripe)
2 eggs
1/4 cup of sour cream
2 cups of flour
1 ½ teaspoons of baking powder
½ teaspoon of soda
a pinch of salt
3 ripe bananas, mashed
2 tablespoons of milk
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Streusel Topping (from the book On Baking)
240g of flour
1g of cinnamon
A pinch of salt
84g of brown sugar
60g of sugar
180g of cold butter

The muffins:
In a mixing bowl, beat together the butter with the sugar. Add the eggs, then the sour cream.

In another bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, soda, and salt.

Add the flour mix to the first bowl in 3 batches, alternating with the mashed bananas.

Add the two tablespoons of milk and mix. Add the vanilla and mix.

Gently incorporate the blueberries.

Spoon the dough into a butterred muffin pan.

The topping:
Mix all the dry ingredients together.

Add the butter and mix until it gets crumbly.

Sprinkle generous amount of streusel topping on the dough and bake at 325F for about 20 minutes.

Enjoy them warm, they are even better!

Leave a Reply

