Marble Chocolate Cake

 _MG_0129

So this is what I had for breakfast this morning: chocolate marble cake. A gigantic piece of it and a glass of orange and tangerine juice (gotta be fancy where you can!). Strange mix but it worked. Or at least I made it work.

I believe in cake in the morning. I know I share this faith with many of you.

I made this cake yesterday afternoon, just before going out for an evening of downhill skiing. It was my first attempt at doing it and I have to say it is actually quite good, and very easy to do. There are many steps that can seem to make it long but I guarantee it is worth it. I was actually worried about the timing – I didn’t think I would have enough time to finish it before leaving – but it turned out fine.

I have been craving a marble cake for a while now, but it is not something I naturally bake. It is not something I actually eat often to be honest. But for the past couple of months, it’s been a recurring thought that I should give it a try.

I found this recipe in the Spring/Summer 2013 edition of Canadian Living magazine that I bought while waiting in line at the supermarket. Actually, Jacob found it for me because there were pictures of cupcakes on the cover page and he thought I would like it. He is sweet.

Anyhow.

I bought the magazine and tried the Glazed Chocolate Marble Cake.

The only thing I did differently is the glazing. I made my chocolate glazing and poured it on top of the cake so I would have a thicker layer of chocolate on top of it. I hope you will like it too.

chocolate cake

You will need:
2 ounces of  melted unsweetened chocolate
3 ounces of melted white chocolate
2/3 cup of butter, room temperature
1 1/2 cups of granulated sugar
3 eggs
2 teaspoons of vanilla
2 1/4 cups of all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon of baking powder
1 teaspoon of baking soda
A pinch of salt
1 cup of buttermilk

In a bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and the salt.

In another bowl, beat the butter with the sugar.

Keep beating and add one egg at a time, then the vanilla.

Pour half of this preparation in a separate bowl and add the white chocolate to it.

Add the unsweetened chocolate to the other mix.

Stir a quarter of the flour mix in to the white chocolate mix and beat well.

Stir a quarter of the flour mix in to the unsweetened chocolate mix and beat well.

Add half a cup a buttermilk in each mix and beat well

Divide the remaining flour between the two preparations and beat well.

Pour the mixture into a greased Bundt or tube pan, one spoon at a time.

Once both mixes are in the pan, use the tip of a knife to make some swirls.

2xChoc Cake Side by Side

Bake for 55 minutes at 325F.

Let the cake cool down for about 30 minutes to an hour before glazing it.

My Chocolate Glaze
Bring to a boil ½ a cup of cream and pour it on top of 6 ounces of chopped bittersweet chocolate.

Stir until the chocolate is melted and let it sit for about 10 minutes before pouring on the cake.

Leave a Reply

