My Mom’s Porc-Épic

_MG_9924As it is now impossible to escape, I have to think about my Holiday baking. I like waiting to the last minute and have a night where I make 2 or 3 different batches of cookies, followed by an evening of baking squares.

In my family, we never had just one dessert for the holidays. My mom still does date squares, brownies, cookies, marshmallow squares, peanut butter balls, rice crispy squares, and fudge. Then she packs a little of everything in big plates that will be served every day between Christmas Eve and New Years, replacing the goodies as they are eaten by ones that she keeps frozen.

I remember spending nights with her in the kitchen while she would run around and do 2 or 3 batches of fudge. She still bakes her fudge and gives it as gifts to her friends and neighbours. They love it. I came to believe they actually now hope for it when holidays are around.

My dad would be with us in the kitchen, making the dishes and chatting about our days. I really loved those nights.

So, as I was thinking about holiday baking tonight, I decided to make one of the first recipes my mom taught me on one of those crazy baking nights: my mom’s porc-épic cookies (porcupine in English).

They are sweet. They are rich. They are a nice compliment to chamomile tea at the end of a long dinner. I like them because they taste home to me. What can I say … they have a special place in my holiday baking spirit!

You will need:
2 cups of sugar
½ cup of butter
½ cup of milk

3 cups of oat flakes
6 tablespoons of cacao
1 cup of sugared coconut flakes
A pinch of salt

In a bowl, mix together the oats, the cacao, the coconut, and the salt.

In a pot, bring to a boil, the sugar, the butter, and the milk – keep mixing for 2 minutes.

Pour the hot mixture in the oats cacao and coconut mix and stir until everything is wet and sticks together.

With a spoon, make small cookies on a baking sheet.

Refrigerate for 2 hours. Enjoy!

_MG_9935

Leave a Reply

