Rustic Raspberry Pie

Rasp-Pie

The first time Jacob asked me to bake him raspberry pie, I have to admit I was a bit perplexed. I had never made one, I wasn’t really into it to be entirely honest, but since he was asking I thought I would give it a try.

What he was hoping for was something close to what his mom used to bake. What I came up with was not at all what he was expecting. But it soon became a very close second place in the “home made raspberry pie” category.

So yesterday, as I was making dinner, I thought it would be nice to go back to this pie since I had not baked it for a long time. I believe it is also very nice to do for holiday receptions, a Sunday night dessert, or just to enjoy because you like raspberries and pie.

As you can guess, the recipe I am posting today is not mine and you can find the original recipe on Ricardo’s website. The recipe makes one big pie, but I also like individual smaller pies.

Try it. For all of you who are pie lovers like me, I garantie you will be happy you gave it a shot.

You will need:
1 cup of flour
½ teaspoon of baking powder
A pinch of salt
1/3 cup of cold unsalted butter
3 tablespoons of ice water

½ cup of sugar
1 tablespoon of cornstarch
2 ¾ cups of frozen raspberries

¾ cup of quick-cooking rolled oats
¼ cup of flour
¼ cup of sugar
¼ cup of unsalted butter, melted

Step 1: The dough
Combine in a food processor once cup of flour, ½ teaspoon of baking powder and a pinch of salt.

Add 1/3 of butter one piece at a time, mixing between each addition.

Add water, one spoon at a time until you get a wet, yet not sticky, dough.

When the dough starts to stick together, knead it on a floured work surface.

Using a rolling-pin, gently but firmly roll the dough on a floured work surface until you get the shape of a nice circle that will fit in your pan. I suggest using a removable pie-pan since it makes the pie look very pretty once it’s ready.

Step 2: The filling
Mix half a cup of sugar, the raspberries and the cornstarch together.

Spread the raspberries in the pan, that already has the dough in it.

Step 3: The crumble
In a bowl, mix together the oats, ¼ cup of flour and ¼ cup of sugar.

Add the melted butter and mix with a spoon until everything sticks together.

Spread on the raspberries.

Bake at 400F for 30 to 35 minutes.

Enjoy!

One thought

Leave a Reply

