Traditional Apple Crumble

_MG_9904A couple of weekends ago, Jacob and I rented a condo in Tremblant. Just us, away from the noise, close to the mountains, plenty of wine and multiple books. What I call real time off.

The first morning it was snowing. The first snow of the season. It was very beautiful and we sipped our coffee thanking our Karma for being so generous with us. We love snow.

Then Jacob got nervous because he realized he still had his summer tires on. But that’s another story.

So before I continue this story, there is something you need to know about me. When I go away on a little trip, I always bring sugar, butter, flour, cinnamon … I bring some baking supplies in case I feel inspired to bake something. My lovely man hates packing my stuff because he says I always bring too much food. Then he’s happy about it when I cook and he realizes that he’s not eating Kraft Dinner all weekend. Then I brag about bringing all this stuff – you know how it goes.

Well as Jacob was napping for the 100th time that day – I believe he was tired – I looked at the apple I had brought, the oatmea l… and it became clear that we needed to have apple crumble in the middle of the afternoon. The idea became genius when I started smelling the sugar and the apple all over the condo. Smart woman.

This recipe is a family one. My aunt was the one doing it first, but she would do strawberries and rhubarb crumble. And the part that I loved so much was the crumble! I remember tossing the fruits just to get a big bite of this delicate, chunky, buttery mixture.

It is also very adaptable. I now put double the cinnamon in the recipe, Jacob always asks for more cinnamon. I don’t always put all the sugar that is needed in the apple mixture. I recommend tasting the apple and if they are juicy and sweet, put a bit less sugar. If on the contrary they are a bit too bitter, go crazy with the sugar. They will caramelize well and the sugar will take over the acidity, while leaving a great taste of apple in your mouth with each bite.

I hope you will like it. I know we did.

You will need:
4 to 5 apples
¾ cup of sugar
½ to 1 teaspoon of cinnamon (go as you like)
2 teaspoons of water

For the crumble: 
2/3 cup of flour
1 1/3 cup of oatmeal
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
½ cup of brown sugar
½ cup of butter, room temperature

Skin and cut the apple in small slices or cubes, and in a big bowl mix them with the sugar, the cinnamon and the water until they are wet and covered. You want the mix to be wet, but you don’t want water in the bottom of the pan.

Put the apples in the bottom of a baking dish.

In another bowl, mix the flour, the oatmeal, the cinnamon and the Brown sugar together, then add the butter in Small cubes. Mix everything until you get a wet texture and you have big-pieces, in the form of peas in the mix.

Put the mixture on top of the apple, bake at 350 for 35 to 40 minutes.

Eat warm or cool, with or without vanilla ice cream, and enjoy!

_MG_9901

Leave a Reply

