Jacob’s Cinnamon Buns

_MG_9994_1

Here it is. My first post. I feel like I have been waiting so long to finally be ready. At the same time, it is kind of a relief. Finally I can get this thing workin’!

And for this first post, I had to honour my greatest fan…

There is something my boyfriend loves more than anything. Well yes there is me, anyways that’s what I like to think, but there is also this incredibly old-fashioned dessert he could eat everyday. He has a ‘Thing’ for cinnamon buns.

When I first met him, we would go grocery shopping together and he would buy, EVERY time, these Pillsbury giant cinnamon rolls, and eat them all during the course of the evening. My level of sugar was getting high just looking at him eating these cinnamon treats with his bare fingers.

So, I tought to myself, I should find a way to bake him the perfect cinnamon buns and make a bunch of them so that he could eat as much as he wanted – it seemed like a decent challenge.

So I started where I always start, looking back into my recipe books. I had never realised that cinnamon buns are not an a-la-mode dessert. Of course I would find the ones with the peacans in a decadant caramel sauce that I presonnaly would have died for… but it wasn’t what the man of the house wanted. He wanted a sugar powder frosting not too thick, a dough not to crispy, and LOTS of cinnamon, brown sugar, and butter.

_MG_9986

So my quest to find a basic recipe didn’t start as easy as I was hoping. I finally tested a couple I found on the Internet, until I started playing with the quantities, fucked up with the steps … and ended up making these wonderful cinnamon buns that passed the test of my lover’s tastebuds.
I was worth keeping around!!

Here is the recipe if you want to try it out.
It’s totally worth the wait.

You will need :

1 cup of milk
½ cup of butter
1 tea spoon of salt
4 eggs
1/3 cup of sugar
½ cup of cold water
5 ½ cups of flour
2 table spoon of instant dry yeast
1/3 cup of butter
2 cups of Brown sugar
1 ½ tablespoon of cinnamon

Place a bowl over a pan of bowling water, and warm the milk. Add butter and salt to the milk to just below the boiling point. DO NOT BOIL.

In another bowl, beat the eggs with the sugar until smooth and a pale color. To the eggs, gently pour in the milk mixture, never stop mixing.

In another bowl mix the flour with the yeast.

Add flour and yeast to the egg and milk mixture, one cup at a time.

Cover your work surface in flour.

Knead the dough with your hands 3 to 4 minutes, until you feel the dough is ferm but not turning tough – I suggest you feel the dough.

Once the dough is a good texture put it in a buttered bowl and cover with a damp towel.

Let rise for 75 minutes.

In the meantime, melt the butter and mix it with the brown sugar and cinnamon.

Once the dough rises, divide it in two equal portions.

Cover your work-surface in flour.

Using a rolling-pin, gently but firmly roll the dough until it is about half a centemiter thick in the shape of a rectangle. On the dough, spread-out half of the sugar and butter mixture.

With your hands, roll the dough into a log.

Cut the log into pieces the thickness (of the cinnamon bun) you desire.

Place them in a buttered pan.

Repeat with the second portion of the dough.

Let the rolls sit for another hour.

Bake 20 to 25 minutes at 350F, or until golden.

For the icing, simply add a little bit of water to icing-sugar and wisk. Add more water for a lighter spread, and more sugar (less water) for a thicker one.

Cover the roll, and simply enjoy with a warm cup of tea.
_MG_0015_1

6 thoughts

Leave a Reply

